TrustToken Hires Hendra Tjahayadi as Director of Engineering

TrueFi
TrueFi
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2018

We’re excited to announce that we’ve hired Hendra Tjahayadi as our new Director of Engineering! Hendra was most recently Director of Engineering at DoorDash, and previously held positions at Lyft and Google. Melissa Sheehan from our People Team recently sat down with Hendra to ask him about his decision to join TrustToken.

Melissa: What attracted you to TrustToken?

Hendra: I was drawn to TrustToken for three reasons — because of the technology, the product and the team.

On the technology side of things, I believe blockchain is the future and a movement is underway. Blockchain is exciting and important and is rapidly becoming more mainstream. It reminds me of the early days of the internet before it was widely popularized.

Melissa: What is a challenge that you’re excited to tackle at TrustToken?

Hendra: I get excited about tokenizing assets. It is a huge challenge and also a large opportunity to make assets liquid so people can buy and sell easily.

Melissa: What’s something that most people don’t know about you?

Hendra: I’m proud to be truly international. I grew up in Jakarta, Indonesia’s capital on the island of Java. I immigrated to the United States when I was just 17 years old. I spent 3 years in Shanghai China and then came back to the Bay Area.

Melissa: What drew you to being an engineer?

Hendra: I started coding at a young age — I was probably 10 or 11 years old. Being an engineer requires creativity and I like that it allows me to invest in building something larger than myself.

As engineers, we have the ability to instruct machines to do things that humans aren’t good at. Coding is building and creating, I think of it as an extension of my hands.

Melissa: Why did you make the transition into management?

Hendra: Personally, I felt that I could make a bigger impact as an engineering manager. I love mentoring engineers, and helping to guide people in their careers. It’s a true passion of mine. I also enjoy the challenge of strategy and vision, and the role that I play to guide a team towards a cohesive goal. It’s a fun challenge for me.

Melissa: What do you look for in a good engineer?

Hendra: Good engineers have a high sense of ownership. They are proud of what they are building and of the quality of their work — whether it’s maintenance work, documentation, or improving it continually. I also think that a good engineer is resource-conscious in making sure that they build things that are simple to maintain, easy to understand and relatively cheap to run.

Want to learn more about engineering roles at TrustToken? Check out our Careers page and follow us on LinkedIn. We’re growing fast and are always on the lookout for talented people.

Hendra’s Bio

Hendra Tjahayadi recently joined the TrustToken team as the Director of Engineering. As Director of Engineering, Hendra is leading and building a rapidly growing engineering team. Before TrustToken, he built the infrastructure team at DoorDash, where he improved the reliability and stability of DoorDash’s systems through explosive 2000% traffic growth. Prior to DoorDash, he held roles at Lyft, Dropcam (acquired by Nest) and Google. Hendra earned his Masters Degree in Computer Science from Stanford University. When he’s not working, you can find Hendra traveling Asia and enjoying time with his wife, two children and two dogs.

--

--

TrueFi
TrueFi

Building TrueFi, the world’s largest credit protocol | $1.7B originated, industry leading underwriting record | Visit truefi.io to lend or launch your portfolio