Meet Rhae, Data Science Masters Degree Apprentice

Rhae Candice Layson
Trusted Data Science @ Haleon
4 min readOct 2, 2023

By Rhae Layson

A little bit about me
I am Rhae, a Data Science (Masters) degree apprentice based in London. Outside of work, I love to go on walks, play volleyball and the piano.

An image of Rhae Layson
Rhae standing in front of a ballestrade and trees.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
I vividly remember being asked as a 7-year-old what I wanted to be when I was older, and the surprise on my teacher’s face when my answer was “accountant”. I did not really understand what an accountant was, but there were four factors which contributed to my answer:

  1. I loved maths. I knew whatever I wanted to do in the future would have to centre around maths.
  2. My mum was studying to become an accountant at the time. She was and is a big role model to me.
  3. I heard that accountants made money, and I wanted to make money. I don’t know where I got the impression that accountants were making more money than everyone else!
  4. I wanted to be different to the other kids who said they wanted to be a singer, fashion designer, footballer, or doctor.

My career aspirations changed over time, particularly during university when I honed into what I really enjoyed. However, there was one thing that never changed — my love for maths and my desire for my career to revolve around it.

Why did you choose to get into this career path?
The original university program I enrolled in was Statistics, Economics, and Finance, with the intention of pursuing a career in banking. However, as I progressed through my degree, I came to the realisation that finance wasn’t the right fit for me. I had a strong desire to ‘make a difference,’ as cliché as it may sound. If it weren’t for my fear of blood, I would have loved to work hands-on in a hospital. Still, my interest in healthcare continued, though in a way that would allow me to apply my skillset.

During my time at university, I learned how to code using R. Although I initially struggled, I eventually found myself enjoying the coding module the most. I began to seriously contemplate a career in data science, a path I had not previously considered.

When deciding what to pursue after university, I came across the data science apprenticeship at what was previously GSK. I believed this opportunity was perfect for me. One year in and I can confirm this apprenticeship has further validated that this is the career I want to pursue.

What do you do day to day?
I start my day by checking emails and my calendar, and then I plan my day. In a typical day, you can find me attending meetings, coding, debugging, testing, and documenting my work. I often undertake research to support project work and take some time to upskill myself by taking online courses. During term time, I take one day a week to complete my master’s requirements. There are some weeks that I go to university as part of my apprenticeship to attend lectures and lab sessions.

Something I’ve learned working on two projects while completing my master’s requirements is how to balance my time. I’ve learned to honestly communicate with people if I am struggling or if something is taking longer than I expect. I am able to prioritise tasks based on importance and urgency. An approach that has greatly benefited me is designating specific days for each project to avoid context switching, allowing me to work more efficiently.

What’s your top tip for anyone who wants to enter the field?
When I first entered the field, it was overwhelming. Over time, I realised that we all have different skill sets; while others may excel in areas you don’t, you also have knowledge and skills that others may lack. Data science is so broad; the more I learn, the more I realise how much I do not know! This is what makes data science so exciting, there is always something to learn. I would advise people not to let intimidation hold you back, to keep learning, and to go for it. Reach out and ask questions, be honest, and be kind to yourself.

I was fortunate enough to have had an exposure to data science and coding, enabling me to make an informed decision regarding my career. I always encourage people I know, especially girls in secondary school, to learn how to code. Although I never directly felt that there was something stopping me, subconsciously, I had this preconceived idea that coding was something men do. The gap is clear in my master’s class, where out of around twenty students, only three of us are female. If not for my university degree where I had to learn how to code as part of a required module, I would not have discovered how much I enjoyed it. It is important that options are presented at a younger age so that students can make more informed choices about their futures.

What do you like most about working at Haleon?
I remember people asking me how work was when I first started, and the phrase I kept repeating was “Everyone is so nice!”. There is strong support for early talent; I have always felt comfortable reaching out for help if needed, and people want and help you to succeed.

In the past year working at Haleon, I’ve learnt so much, and it has been so fun! The work I do is challenging and stimulating. I learn something every day, whether through project work and research, or from those who are more experienced in the company. Everyone I’ve encountered has been very generous with their knowledge. It is a privilege to work in a diverse, supportive team, with many female role models.

--

--