Lynn Walsh joins Trusting News project

Lynn Walsh
Trusting News
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2017

Trust. It’s something that takes time to earn yet can be lost in the blink of an eye.

For news organizations, the public’s trust in its products (TV newscasts, newspapers, websites, mobile apps) at one point seems to have come naturally and easily — but that’s all changing.

Those changes are the reason I am joining the Trusting News project. When I watched Joy Mayer’s video about what she is trying to accomplish, I said to myself “this is exactly what I have been telling journalists, news organizations and the public for the last year and a half.”

Now, I want to keep telling. Telling journalists. Telling news managers. Telling professors. Telling the public.

While serving as the national president of the Society of Professional Journalists, I had the privilege of speaking to news organizations, journalists and most importantly the public. The message I heard loud and clear, no matter which part of the country or world I was in was in, was this: There is a disconnect between the public’s understanding of what journalism is and what journalists do and what it actually is and what we actually do.

I believe this misunderstanding and lack of knowledge is leading to the waning trust that currently exists. And a waning trust in journalism, the fourth estate, is a threat to our democracy as we know it.

This is why I am joining the Trusting News project.

I have always considered myself an advocate for ethical journalism, the public’s right to know and the First Amendment. This past year, my passion and desire to protect and defend those values was heightened. While serving SPJ as the National President, I was lucky to spend the year traveling the country and the world, speaking to journalists and the public about the importance of free speech and free press rights for all.

During this time, I learned the public and journalists are not on the same page. I spent countless hours trying to bridge the disconnect and work through the misconceptions. My favorite part was talking to the public, non-journalists, about what I love and value: the freedom to publish information and hold those in power accountable.

Uncovering wrongdoings and holding the powerful accountable is something I have worked toward every day. I’ve been an investigative journalist for a little over 10 years. For the last three years I have led the NBC 7 Investigates team in San Diego, California. Throughout my journalism career, fighting for transparency and honesty, both inside and outside my news organization, has been a priority. Now, I’ll focus on encouraging transparency and honesty from journalists and news organizations.

I believe that through transparency, ethical journalism and conversation, we can rebuild trust. By pulling back the curtain and letting the public see how and why we choose stories, story length, story treatment, etc. we let them in. We provide an opportunity for them to see what we do and why we do it.

As journalists we have a responsibility to be transparent and honest with your users. We have a responsibility to bring people from all sides together and encourage civil discourse. If we do this, we can help each side gain a better understanding of who we are and what we do.

Will you join us?

--

--

Lynn Walsh
Trusting News

Emmy award-winning journalist • TrustingNews.Org • @SPJ_Tweets • @PLNU Adjunct • FOIA fighter • Digital Explorer #Sunsets #1stAmendment Lynn.K.Walsh@gmail.com