Confidence As A Designer: How To Build It

Jamal Nichols
Truth About Design
Published in
7 min readMar 5, 2019

--

Video version of this article:
https://youtu.be/bOV59hKJZ3I

“I feel like I don’t belong here”

“Everyone else is so good, I don’t know if I’ll ever reach that level”

“How in the world did I get into here?”

Talking to other designers, I keep hearing the same issues: low confidence and impostor syndrome. Students will ask me: “When did you feel comfortable calling yourself a “Design Expert”?

Even years into my career, I’d have that sinking feeling that I’m not good enough. I’d look at other designer’s work and have this sense of panic: They are so much better than me. I’ll never be as good as they are. How did they get that good? I don’t have what it takes.

It trickled down into my work, and into my client interactions. I’d have trouble standing up for my design decisions. I’d be afraid to ask for not only the salary that I’m worth but the salary that I needed to pay the bills comfortably.

Why Is Confidence Important?

Confidence is a critical ingredient to becoming a successful designer. If you’re confident in your abilities, you wake up in the morning, excited to go into work and make something that you know is of value.

--

--