as for now, and as for then (poem)

Greg Burgess
TruthfullyTuesday
Published in
1 min readOct 2, 2019
photo of me by Okaypat

after all this waiting
will it be worth it?

time standing still
and time flying by

there is no in-between that satisfies

i’ll yearn and yearn until each day is done
awake each morning and sing the same song

will you love me like i need it?
oh how i wish i didn’t need it

if i wait until forever, what will happen then?
would moments pass me by,
perhaps i could miss the long goodbye

a crisis averted, a detour
someone to distract me from my lonely nature

i’m looking for the real thing

no replacement needed
no repackaged goods

my eyes have deceived me
and continue they sin

but as for now
and as for then
i’ll see you when i see you
forever and ever we hope to begin

-gb

THANK YOU FOR READING

Follow TruthfullyTuesday on Medium.com

Follow TruthfullyTuesday on IG

Follow the writer of this post Greg Burgess on IG

--

--

Greg Burgess
TruthfullyTuesday

Greg is a singer/songwriter, author and content producer who lives in Miami, FL.