memory loss (poem)

Greg Burgess
TruthfullyTuesday
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2019

super raw poem from a like a week ago…enjoy

i didn’t realize the time would come until it already passed
a memory running away no matter how far i stretch
it has slipped through my grasp

photo by me

for the life of me, i cannot remember how it felt to have your lips on mine

our legs intertwined, yes.
i remember the skin to skin,
the searching for toes,
the safety net of touching, just barely
but not your lips; they escape me.

your body rested against mine,
the way our hips touched
the way my arm wrapped all the way around you
the way your hair tickled my nose.

but not your lips.

they are gone.

removed
replaced
forgotten

let it be known,
i did not choose to forget.
forgetting is the conduit of pain.
the more i remember,
the greater it hurt

my memory loss is a self-induced serum curing me from the only incurable disease.
a morphine drip with every word i speak in memory of you

slowly
slowly you fade
it only hurts when i choose to forget the truth

the truth is what got me through
the truth is what leads me on

i’m tied to the memories
handcuffed to the pain

my dark cloud
the valley dry
my firm foundation

-gb

--

--

Greg Burgess
TruthfullyTuesday

Greg is a singer/songwriter, author and content producer who lives in Miami, FL.