The Case Of The Duplicate Article… And The Disappearing News Site…

Charlotte Scott
truthsquad
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2017

This article popped up on my Facebook feed. It has the same title, “Famous Women Reveal Their Net Worth,” as this article sponsored by WorldLifestyle, the one I wrote about earlier this week.

But instead of leading me to WorldLifestyle.com, my click took me to TodaysBuzz.com.

Why does WorldLifestyle have two (or more?) domains for their content?

From what I can tell, the article is the exact same as the one published on WorldLifestyle.com. It even has the same stock photo for its first slide.

And just like WorldLifestyle, TodaysBuzz has top-notch advertisers.

But, when I tried revisiting WorldLifestyle.com to compare the articles, it no longer existed.

So now the article exists on TodaysBuzz.com, but not WorldLifestyle.com? Isn’t it suspicious that an article was published for WorldLifestyle and has now vanished from the site?

I also checked out their Facebook page. It hasn’t been updated since Sept. 2, 2016, and it’s “About” page isn’t helpful at all.

The saga continues. Clearly, the intersection between news and commerce on Facebook is more complicated than it appears.

--

--

Charlotte Scott
truthsquad

Charlotte is studying journalism at USC Annenberg. Follow her on Twitter at @reportsbychar