I have no idea what I’m doing.

….but I think I’m good at it.

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

--

I am considered an expert in a corporate environment, but I’ve only been doing photography and video editing seriously for less than five years. What gives?

When I work with people, I have this problem. Well, it’s not really a problem, because it gives them realistic expectations. I just like tell them how it is. I am not a big fan of lying to people. It leaves me sick to my gut. Just can’t do it. Not even to try and impress someone. That feels even worse.

From time to time I will come across projects that I have never done before or I am not very familiar with the process. You might hear me say,

Just so you know, I have never done this before. I will do my very best to make it work. I’ll figure it out.

About 90% of the time I figure it out. That other 10% we usually just adapt, meet half way and it still ends up being a great project. The coolest part about it is that when it’s all over, they trust me even more. I wasn’t trying to be flashy. I was honest. I admitted to my imperfections, but I committed to making their project a success.

I earned their trust by being honest and as well as being a problem solver.

I didn’t just say “No, I can’t do that.” Instead, I told them I would do whatever it takes to make it happen. Doing projects you aren’t familiar with are great for your problem solving muscles AKA your brain. People love problem solvers. I love problem solvers. Don’t you?

I would never earn their trust by being a liar. I wasn’t setting up these grand expectations that I didn’t think I could offer. I offered my best try. Most of the time that’s what it feels like when I do work. As familiar as the work can be, I still can feel less than qualified to do something. There is so much about photography that I don’t know yet. People see my work and think I am a wizard with a camera.

They probably have thoughts like…..

Oh you can just fix this in photoshop right?…..

Let’s get Jacob to do it, he can figure it out…..

His work is fantastic, he should be able to do it…..

Despite my own ambitious nature, the problem is that not every photographer knows how to do everything. Not every photographer does heavy or composite editing with photoshop. Some just tweak it a little. Some just upload and whip out a preset because they could care less about understanding how to do any kind of editing. Not all photographers know how to properly do long exposures or capture the northern lights. Not all photographers have portrait experience working with models and studio lighting.

Saying that a photographer knows how to do every style of photography extremely well is like saying that a carpenter that builds tables can build a row boat or an acoustic guitar. Sure, if you gave the carpenter the tools and the time I’m sure he could figure it out through some studying and trial and error.

I’m just like that carpenter. I have certain skills I am good at within photography because I have experience in certain parts of photography. I am not an underwater photographer just because I am a photographer. I’ll totally give that a try if it’s offered to me though. Right after I tell them that I’ve never done it before, but I’ll do my best.

People work with me for my problem solving skills on top of my experience. They know I used to not know how to take great portraits of landscapes and people, but now I like to think I am pretty good at it. They know that I’ll figure it out, because I have done it before and I’ll do it again.

Start being an honest problem solver.

Quit being a liar. Liars just try to take shortcuts and no good ever comes of that in the long run.

This post was originally written at my blog kineticbear.com

Interested in becoming a better blogger? Check out my new book. I think you’ll enjoy it.

--

--

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

Marketing & Brand Manager at Headway.io. Photographer, video producer, and musician. I also make hiking guides for Resanda.com.