Where did the faith go?

Seriously, what the hell happened to religion?

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

--

Before you think about a response to the title, just hear me out. I think the fact that Medium has no comment section is perfect for this post. I want to say a few things and then be on my way. Don’t sit on this too long yourself. Just read it and be on your way.

What I find most interesting about faith is how we all seem to be required to define what we believe. I’m talking about the correlation between faith and religion specifically. Despite how advanced and open minded society has become, we still seem to put people into boxes when they are suddenly defined under a category. Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, etc. Most of the time religion has nothing to do with the character a person has or the kind of person they are.

What is even more interesting to me is how some religions have been segmented into so many denominations that I have no idea what the fuck the difference is between them. Who has the time to understand the petty differences between all of them. Most of them just seem to have been founded upon choosing what to believe by personal choice. A buffet of options to choose from and pick your favorites.

Since when did religion become a buffet?

“I’ll take some of that, two scoops of that and just a little bit of that.”

I just don’t get it. It sounds like you are just too ignorant to commit to something. If you don’t like what they offer, then don’t take it.

I guess that explains why there are so many denominations though.

eh….Screw it. I’ll just make my own denomination. Better yet. I’ll be non-denominational. Then I can do what ever I want all the time.

Why focus so much on the politics when people forget to focus on who they are and what they do?

It’s a shame when a religion with decent principles and morals gets a bad reputation because of one person. All because of one jackass with a megaphone up his own ass.

We need more people to focus less on religion and more on just becoming better people.

Plain and simple.

There isn’t enough of that going on around here.

--

--

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

Marketing & Brand Manager at Headway.io. Photographer, video producer, and musician. I also make hiking guides for Resanda.com.