Leaving Facebook helped me get a new job.

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

--

It doesn’t take long until you realize that 3 hours of your life have passed after logging into Facebook. I used to be that guy logging in right before bed and slowly killing myself by only getting 4 hours of sleep before heading to work. Then I would end up browsing during the day on my phone and that would add up to more wasted time. It was not a healthy habit at all.

Facebook became a bad habit.

There are many ways to control those bad habits, but why waste time trying to control a bad habit when you can just eliminate the opportunity? Why not make a good habit more easily accessible? Changing your environment can change your behavior. I chose to remove myself from the Facebook environment completely. I still don’t go to bed early all the time, but I definitely get more sleep. My body and mind are grateful for that.

Being on Facebook made me feel like I always had to say something about everything. It was a like a digital soapbox to place your opinion even when it wasn’t necessary. Removing myself from that type of attitude has taught me to listen more and think a lot more before I just blab my big mouth.

Being caught up in what everyone else is doing only holds you back from living your own life.

Quitting Facebook created new opportunities.

By removing Facebook from my daily routine I added at least 1–4 hours each day to do something else. I have not always utilized it for my best interest, but at least half of it has been spent learning new things and focusing on passions. I’ve been writing a lot more music, learning how to build tables, how to roast coffee, learn the cello, writing my first book, becoming a better motion designer and tons of other small things.

Not only did I find time to focus on things I love to do, but have found myself coming across great opportunities in the real world. Most recently, a new job. All because of my time spent developing my skills and building stronger relationships. The only reason I was offered the job was because a close friend loves my work and how I do things. I did not apply for a position, one was created for me.

Leaving Facebook strengthened my relationships.

I am thankful for the people and now good friends I have met through Facebook, but my time is now spent investing others I actually see in my life. While online communities are great, you can easily get caught up in them and forget about those around you. The people you love, the people you work with and those that are influenced by your real life actions.

Less time browsing Facebook means more time physically talking with my roommates, my family and real people around me. There is a huge difference between a phone call and a text message. It’s easy to text someone, but it means a lot to call them. It’s a cool feeling to get a call from someone you haven’t heard from in a while or even in a day. It’s just a good feeling to know someone cares enough to call.

I love building and becoming a part of online communities, but I try to remind others that real life is where success and opportunity happen. It takes hard work in the physical world to find success. That is even true for happiness. While the internet can provide great conversations and laughter, finding joy and being content with our own life starts with ourselves and our environments. In order to give online or anywhere, you must take care of yourself and those around you. A glass can only spill what it contains.

I am proud to say that I am not on Facebook anymore. I am even more proud of who I have become since I left. I have been gone since February 2014. I hope that removing a bad habit from your own life can do the same. It might not be Facebook for you, but I highly recommend giving it a try if you have the same issues I had with it.

This article was originally posted on my blog over at kineticbear.com

--

--

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

Marketing & Brand Manager at Headway.io. Photographer, video producer, and musician. I also make hiking guides for Resanda.com.