You are incredible.

How blogging changed my life.

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

--

Most of us are regular people. We don’t have some action packed story to tell. Not all of us have been in a life or death situation. It’s not normal to build up a fortune 500 company.

We can easily feel like we have nothing worth saying.

I mean seriously, when we go online we are ambushed with crazy stories about how people built up companies, how people survived some extreme situation or just did something incredible.

We are flooded with the idea that incredible is impossible for most people.

For regular people.

How can we expect ourselves to all have extreme stories to tell?

The truth is that we all are incredible. We all have stories to tell.

Incredible is raising a family. Incredible is starting your own business (even if it fails). Incredible is working on a project with a team your trust. Incredible is helping others. Being incredible is doing something that has a risk involved. Something that has a chance of failure.

Before I started blogging I was a normal person. Just guy, a camera, a degree and job. The average young adult by today’s standards. I still am that average person. The rest of the information about me is just details. The “details” is what we look past. All the time.

The details in our life are what make us incredible. It’s where the stories live. Between the lines on our resume.

Once I started blogging and took it more seriously in 2012, things started to change. My stories were becoming known. My work was present and visible to more people than my facebook friends. People began to discover me. How people run across my site is just incredible in itself. The more I wrote and published, the more easily people could find my blog.

All I was doing was sharing my work, my knowledge, lessons I’ve learned from just living my life. I was being honest. I don’t like to put lipstick on the pig. That’s just ridiculous. I tell it how it is. Life is hard. Life is full of unfortunate events. I didn’t want to show that my life is perfect. It’s not.

Every single post on your blog creates a new opportunity for yourself. The more I published to my blog the more I became connected to others. I had some sort of klout to myself. My blog gave others, people I never met in my life, evidence to believe that I was the real deal. Not just a portfolio with “x” years experience. Peole began to see who I really was through my blog.

This list grows every day:

Blogging helped me get a full time job with benefits.

Blogging taught me to be a better communicator.

Blogging connected me with some of the greatest individuals on the planet.

Blogging enabled me to write my first book.

Blogging lets me document my life on my terms.

Blogging let me be a part of the alpha and beta testing of Pressgram and Desk PM.

Blogging gave me some of the greatest friendships of my life.

Blogging has made me a more organized person.

Blogging has shown me the power of commitment.

Blogging is showing me what influence is really all about.

Blogging made me a better person.

Blogging changed my life.

All of that, in just two years…..

Interested in becoming a better blogger? Check out my new book. I think you’ll enjoy it.

Love the photo from this article? You can get it here.

--

--

Jacob Miller
Trying to live an honest life.

Marketing & Brand Manager at Headway.io. Photographer, video producer, and musician. I also make hiking guides for Resanda.com.