The Time I Fell In Love With The Austrian “Strudel”

It can be filled with nearly anything. Despite that, it’s something very special.

Vi.Smith
TryMeatless

--

For me it became a dish which makes me feel at home. You as well, might have eaten this delicious apple or curd cheese strudel with powdered sugar and vanilla sauce before. The easy to make strudel comes in a lot of interesting forms, in sweet and spicy flavors.

This article will cover some personal experiences and recipe ideas.

Picture from RitaE on Pixabay

I was not used to eating homemade strudel as a child and never saw a strudel dough or a finished strudel besides some store bought average tasting ones. At 15 years of age I learned how to make a strudel in school which made me realize how easy you can prepare delicious food at home. There are many options to buy finished dough in grocery stores as well which only need to be filled and baked.

When I began to eat at restaurants at around age 17, trying different foods I never ate or heard of and getting recipe ideas, I felt the excitement of a child. Something very unique which will never come back.

I well remember the time I tried cream strudel with hot blueberry sauce at work for the first time, the cream cheese strudel with vanilla sauce at the restaurant years ago and the time I ate an amazing…

--

--

Vi.Smith
TryMeatless

I’m from the province of Styria in Austria and write about Food, Cooking, Austria and Life Experiences.