Expanding the Box with Tsai CITY’s Social Innovation Internship

Stella Vujic
Tsai CITY

--

When the COVID-19 pandemic upended all of my summer plans in May, so many doors were closing that I had mostly lost hope that any more would open. But thankfully, I still had a little faith left. I spent the end of May frantically applying to countless internships and remote opportunities, including the Tsai CITY Social Innovation Internship.

The opportunity seemed great — Yale students are paired with a New Haven-based entrepreneurial non-profit and complete an internship centered around the development of entrepreneurship skills and social innovation methods. Especially in the face of a global pandemic, we could all use some exercise in creativity and innovation. So I submitted an application, my resume stacked with experiences in scientific research and musical extracurriculars.

A month later, “Congratulations!” popped up in my email inbox. I had been paired with Christian Community Action, a non-profit devoted to providing “help, housing, and hope to those who are poor in New Haven.”

During my initial (virtual) meeting with Kelsey, my supervisor, and Rev. Bonita Grubbs, who runs CCA, they told me I was at or near the top of their list when they were choosing interns. At first, I was honestly a bit confused — what exactly did they see in me? I had spent the previous summer working in a mechanical engineering lab, and my extracurricular activities centered around heavy involvement in the Yale Symphony Orchestra.

This was my first lesson in entrepreneurship.

Writing a resume and applying to typical internships inevitably box you into a certain version of yourself. The reality is that a lot of my experiences, like research or music, led me to develop a lot of transferable skills that are useful in any field of work. My research experiences taught me problem-solving, perseverance, and how to use data to tell a compelling story. Music taught me about collaboration, dedication, and the power of community. All of these skills were put to use and further developed during my time at CCA. No matter that I didn’t have any previous experience working with a non-profit — it turns out I was enough.

In short, entrepreneurship requires a lot of flexibility and open-mindedness. Thinking outside the box and not being afraid to try something new are key. It’s important to look within yourself (and others) for the unique skills that you bring to the table, no matter how “directly related” your previous experiences are to the task at hand. Often, having people who come from a variety of backgrounds and experiences will enrich the entrepreneurial effort.

CCA gave me a lot of freedom in how to accomplish the two major goals of my internship. My tasks were to research voter registration and pertinent election issues for CCA clients, and to create a list of suggestions related to what policies CCA should include in its policy agenda for 2021. To accomplish these goals, I designed a Voter’s Guide e-book, and I created a policy recommendation report that was primarily based on interviews I conducted with CCA staff. Their investment in me as a person, in my ability to use my creativity and my willingness to learn new things, was crucial. It not only meant a lot to me personally, but it also meant that I could capitalize on my strengths to tackle the projects I was assigned. A good method for any entrepreneurial endeavor is to invest in people as holistic individuals. Having specific skills is obviously important, but you will often end up having to wear many hats.

“Social innovation” is the lifeblood of CCA. Their holistic approach to addressing homelessness includes offering a wide array of social services to families, since there are many factors that lead to homelessness. As a part of my internship, I conducted interviews with several CCA staff members to help CCA develop their policy advocacy agenda for 2021. I learned so much just by talking to staff about their work. The people at CCA are truly invested in the communities they serve, and many have even experienced the issues that they help CCA clients deal with today. In order to be truly socially innovative, you have to make a legitimate effort to get to know the community you serve. A grassroots, rather than top-down, approach is the key to making an impact.

The lessons I learned at CCA and the inspirational people I met have made a lasting impression on me. As I tackle new projects at Yale and beyond, the insights I gained during my time at CCA are sure to serve me well.

Stella Vujic is a Yale College student.

Curious about opportunities like this? Explore Tsai CITY Engage, a community engagement initiative that provides opportunities for Yale students to collaborate with the Greater New Haven community to foster a vibrant entrepreneurship and innovation ecosystem.

--

--