⚠️ On March 31st 2019, TTC Foundation launched its own blockchain solution, TTC, and rebranded TTC Protocol as Acorn Protocol. This article was announced before the separation. [Read more]

Meet the Team #4: Phillip Chun

How a pre-med student became a blockchain rookie

Olivia Song
Maro — Official Blog

--

Dear readers,
This is Olivia Song, a Marketing & Communication manager at TTC Protocol.

In 2019, I will be running an interview series called “Olivia’s Cryptalk Show” to share the insider’s view of TTC ecosystem. It is a 15-min long brief interview with someone deeply involved with the TTC Protocol. It could be a team member, an investor, a follower, an advisor or maybe you!

This week I’ve set down with Phillip Chun, The Analyst of TTC Protocol who’s also in charge of our global community expansion. Please enjoy!

Olivia(O): Hi Phillip, can you briefly tell your life story?

Phillip(P): Hi Olivia, to begin with where I started off in this world, I was born in Macomb Illinois. But, I do not remember much of the place since I was raised in College Station Texas while my father studied for his PhD.

I moved to Korea when I was about 7, and progressed through life as a regular Korean boy; going to a Korean public school and suffering through the Korean education system like every other teenager. After a year of “Jasue (studying one more year for the college entrance exam)” I entered Korea University. However, I transferred to UCSD during my junior year because I wanted to study medicine in the States. Fast forward a couple years, on my way to medical school, I figured I do not want to pursue the medical path at the moment. Maybe later. So, I started pursuing a different path which led me to where I am and what I do today.

O: How did you first become interested in blockchain?

P: Actually, before I learned about the technology, I focused merely on trading cryptocurrencies. However, once I realized I know very very little about what I invest in, I started learning about blockchain and was surprised how amazing it actually is. I came to see that blockchain will indeed change this world.

O: It looks like you made a big careerwise change, what made you pursue blockchain?

P: There were several reasons in play, but the main reason was timing. People rarely get the opportunity to be at the center of a revolutionary wave of change at its dawn. I simply realized this was the golden time to jump into the industry if I wanted to make an actual impact; and so I did.

O: Why did you join TTC Protocol in particular?

P: Based on what I have witnessed thus far in life, social interactions, payments, and games were the early adopters of a new technology; while the government and academia were the last to do so. Hence, I naturally desired to join a social project. However, before I came to realize the actual impact TTC Protocol will bring about, I was mostly drawn to Brian and Chase and their enthusiasm when I first met them.

O: What would you like to learn from and contribute to TTC Protocol?

P: I want to learn all I can about everything that a non-developer can do in the blockchain industry. Also, I want to learn how to excel at my work. Thankfully, Brian and Chase are great mentors regarding such aspects.

When it comes to what I would like to contribute to TTC Protocol, I would like to give the project the opportunity to accelerate its growth. As such the team is doing for me. Also, as a big part of my job is dedicated to community building and managing, I would like to grow our community worldwide and introduce TTC Protocol to people all over the globe.

O: What is your career goal?

P: My career goal is becoming someone who can have an impact. I hope the things I do and the decisions I make can steer a project into greatness.

O: What is TTC Protocol to you?

P: I believe TTC Protocol is an opportunity. Not just for my career, but an opportunity this world will have for the mass adoption of blockchain.

About TTC

TTC is a blockchain fit for mass adoption and a sustainable token economy model. For details, visit our website. For the latest news on TTC, join ourTelegram and follow us on twitter.

--

--