⚠️ On March 31st 2019, TTC Foundation launched its own blockchain solution, TTC, and rebranded TTC Protocol as Acorn Protocol. This article was announced before the separation. [Read more]

Meet the Team #2: Chase, VP of Ecosystem

Get to know the “employee #1” of TTC Protocol!

Olivia Song
Maro — Official Blog

--

Dear readers,
This is Olivia Song, a Marketing & Communication manager at TTC Protocol.

In 2019, I will be running an interview series called “Olivia’s Cryptalk Show” to share the insider’s view of TTC ecosystem. It is a 15-min long brief interview with someone deeply involved with the TTC Protocol. It could be a team member, an investor, a follower, an advisor or maybe you!

This week I’ve set down with Chase Chang, a VP of Ecosystem at TTC Protocol to discuss on how he got into blockchain, and joined TTC Protocol as the “Employee #1”. Please enjoy!

Q. Hello Chase, please introduce yourself.

Hi, my name is Chase Chang and I am the VP of Ecosystem at TTC Protocol.

I spent more than half of my life in so-called emerging markets; Panama, Senegal, Thailand, the States, and Australia; I served for the military in Senegal. When it comes to my career, I spent about one-third of it over at Thailand. In other words, I could say that I have developed my adulthood in developing countries, just like brothers in arms.

I had my first job in SoftBank Ventures Korea (now renamed as SoftBank Ventures Asia). It took me two years to realize that I had an itch to get things done with my own hands, rather than to support and watch other (amazing) people trying. I left the VC scene and joined LINE (a messenger app valued at 9B USD today), where I was one of the founding members of LINE Thailand.

In the following 18 months, LINE dominated the mobile scene in Thailand; penetrated 90+% of the total mobile population, generated annual revenue of $100+M. As a head of Partnership and New Businesses, I carried out partnership deals with prominent companies such as Samsung, Huawei, Lazada, AIS, and dtac; and launched more than 10 new projects such as LINE Music, LINE Pay, Local Stickers, Web Store, eCommerce, and Webtoon. Some of those projects generate more than 10m USD revenue today.

In 2015, I took another challenge and joined Retrica, a mobile camera app, which had just closed its $6m round-A fundraising. I worked in Retrica as its COO for 2 years before I came onboard TTC Protocol.

I served for the military in Senegal for 30 months.

Q. What made you take interest in blockchain?

In January of 2018, Brian brought up the word ICO to me over one casual dinner. Initially, I began to study blockchain technology under the question if Retrica could benefit from an ICO. (Later, Retrica decided not to go forward with the ICO, with all the right reasons) However, as I studied deeper, it reminded me more of the tech scene of 2011 in Korea; then, it was the mobile revolution, now, it was the blockchain revolution.

Once I felt like the tide is coming in, I had to take part in it.

Q. Among various projects, why did you join TTC Protocol?

Frankly speaking, I did not know many other projects in the blockchain scene. Back then, it seems to me that there were more scam projects than “legit” ones. So, I thought, if I am to join a project, I must find a trustworthy team over other things, such as the list of advisors, fundraised amount, my salary, etc. So when Brian asked me to join TTC Protocol, I decided to do so without hesitation.

Brian and I met 10 years ago, at the Nonsan military boot camp in South Korea. We shared meals covered in sweat and shed blood on to the same dirt during our training sessions. 10 weeks later, I was dispatched to Senegal, and he was to Indonesia. As I thought he was an interesting fellow, he must have thought the same. After we completed our military service (30 months), he was the one who set up the interview for me at the SoftBank Ventures, where my career in IT began.

Long story short, I joined TTC Protocol because of Brian. Seems like Brian ushered me into the IT, mobile, and Blockchain industry. Thanks, Brian.

At LINE’s first office in South America. I worked at a hotel room for 2 months in Argentina, and flew back to Korea after interviewing the first interviewee.

Q. What do you most expect in 2019?

Many industry experts say that 2019 will be the year of “Blockchain commercialization.” I am truly excited about TTC Protocol leading such a mass adoption. Over 30 million users will begin to earn TTC, TTC Alliance DAPPs will grow both user size and revenue, and more products and services will be available for purchasing at the expense of TTC.

Q. What kind of role do you want TTC Protocol to play in the overall blockchain industry?

I want TTC Protocol to be remembered as one who led the mass adoption of blockchain. We have to be careful not to be those “first movers” that educate the market and disappear. It is essential to measure our pace and properly allocate our efforts.

Announcing the partner services at TTC Protocol’s Seoul meet up.

Q. How do you, Chase, want to be remembered in this industry?

What about “Employee #1 of TTC Protocol”?
I personally like the number one as well.

Q.What is TTC Protocol to you?

A new challenge.

I think the technological disruption happens once every decade, and when it does, it happens like a tsunami. Throughout our career, we might experience only 4 or 5 of these tsunamis, and joining in at the early stage of such tech disruption, to me, is a great privilege (and joy.)

Though one must risk a lot, and possibly, will lose a lot, I think that is why we call it a challenge.

About TTC

TTC is a blockchain fit for mass adoption and a sustainable token economy model. For details, visit our website. For the latest news on TTC, join ourTelegram and follow us on twitter.

--

--