Armel Ngnazi, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

“Here at Tetra Tech, my colleagues and the projects we work on are about respect and the need to do the best for those we are working for.”

Tetra Tech International Development
#TtInspires
3 min readDec 13, 2018

--

Armel Nganzi is the Eastern Congo Coordinator on the USAID Capacity Building for Responsible Minerals Trade (CBRMT) project team. With nearly 10 years of international development experience, he has a range of responsibilities; from the design, development, implementation, and monitoring of technical aspects of the project to conducting field-based research and analytical reports. Armel also establishes effective and adequate communications through the Democratic Republic of Congo and the eastern region, where he currently resides, and was featured in a recent film about the project.

Armel is passionate and proud of his work and to be a part of the Tetra Tech family because he feels our work is something necessary for the common good and not just for profit. In reflecting further on why he is proud to be a part of the Tetra Tech family, Armel recounted memories of seeing the success of projects he has been a part of at the village level. “One of my proudest memories is when I came back to a village where we worked after several years. I was greeted with a big smile and people thanked me. I could see all our work realized. I am proud when I feel that we are improving someone’s life, whether it be a beneficiary, a colleague, a partner, etc.” Armel is passionate about the people he works with on the ground everyday, working towards building hope for many communities.

“I want to see the brightness in the eyes of someone who just found a big diamond or the joy of a miner after building a new home. My passion for international development is in the every day work. I can see how we are positively impacting the way people in the world live and are creating hope for a better day.”

Armel first came to Tetra Tech as a GIS technician on the first phase of the USAID Property Rights and Artisanal Diamond Development project (PRADD), where he worked for three and a half years moving up the ranks to a Coordinator position and finally, Deputy Chief of Party. As a GIS technician, Armel learned the different ways we can create positive changes for people and found a family that carries the same hopes and goals he has. “Tetra Tech gave me the opportunity to use my knowledge and skills to do something positive for people. I found a place where I can pursue my dreams and build hope for Africa.” After working on the first phase of PRADD, Armel left Tetra Tech to study in the United States before returning to the Tetra Tech 16 months later in Eastern Congo. He was excited to return “not only because I love what we do, it is also about feeling part of a family. It is a feeling recognized by my colleagues who share the same objectives as I do. Many places are only about competition and promotion, but here at Tetra Tech, my colleagues and the projects we work on are more about respect and the need to do the best for those we are working for.”

--

--

Tetra Tech International Development
#TtInspires

Tetra Tech is a leading, global consulting firm providing practical and sustainable international development services — tetratech.com/intdev