Ed Harvey, U.S.

“I have always loved my responsibilities in project management at Tetra Tech, have always enjoyed the great professional camaraderie and learning in the home office, and have always loved supporting and working with my project teams and colleagues overseas. I believe Tetra Tech has offered me great career opportunities throughout my professional life.”

Tetra Tech International Development
#TtInspires
3 min readJan 23, 2019

--

Ed Harvey has always been interested in international affairs and the challenges of the developing world, beginning his career as a Peace Corps volunteer in Tunisia in the late 70’s. In 1982, he enrolled in the Program in Intercultural Management (PIM) at the School for International Training in Brattleboro, VT. This program had a required internship component, which is how Ed first came to Tetra Tech (formerly ARD, Inc.) At the time, it was the only international development firm in the state of Vermont.

As an intern, Ed worked primarily in recruitment for proposals and conducted research relating to the U.S. Agency for International Development contracts Tetra Tech held in rural development and agriculture. After working for a few years full-time and part-time, he left Tetra Tech to finish a Master’s degree and start a family. Ten years later, Ed returned as an Assistant Project Manager in the Environment and Natural Resource sector for USAID’s Famine Early Warning Systems (FEWS) Network. “And my true career at ARD (Tetra Tech) was underway.”

Over the past 23 years, Ed has consistently taken on more responsibility, serving as a Project Manager and a Senior Project Manager. “I have always loved my responsibilities in project management at Tetra Tech, have always enjoyed the great professional camaraderie and learning in the home office, and have always loved supporting and working with my project teams and colleagues overseas. I believe Tetra Tech has offered me great career opportunities throughout my professional life.”

During his tenure, Ed has served in a project management role on 112 projects implemented in more than 50 countries. These numbers truly speak for themselves!

Ed’s inspiration throughout his career has come from working with some of the sharpest and most forward-thinking people in the development assistance business and the systems they have developed and improved steadily over the years to keep up with technological advances and internal creativity.

“I love coming to the office every day to work with a bright, energetic, and insightful gathering of colleagues in a productive and positive environment, doing good work that impacts the lives of people in the developing world. It is an opportunity for which I have always been thankful and to which I remain happily devoted.”

--

--

Tetra Tech International Development
#TtInspires

Tetra Tech is a leading, global consulting firm providing practical and sustainable international development services — tetratech.com/intdev