Wahyu (Utik) Samudrastuti, Indonesia

“I am grateful to have worked for Tetra Tech from the beginning because the project work taught me a lot [about finance] and offered capacity building scholarships that allowed me to attend trainings and build my skills.”

Tetra Tech International Development
#TtInspires
2 min readJan 10, 2019

--

Wahyu (Utik) Samudrastuti, has more than 16 years of professional financial management experience working in the field. Utik is passionate about solving environmental issues in developing countries and chose international development as a career path to pursue her passion.

“I hope I can participate in the solution of these issues like climate change and reduce the use of plastic.”

Finance Procurement Team, USAID LESTARI Project

Utik began working for Tetra Tech as a junior assistant accountant on the USAID Natural Resource Management project in Indonesia after graduating from university in Jakarta, Indonesia. “I am grateful to have worked for Tetra Tech from the beginning because the project work taught me a lot [about finance] and offered capacity building scholarships that allowed me to attend trainings and build my skills.”

Utik (far right) with team members

Utik continued to excel in her career, and became a lead accountant and then a short-term expatriate consultant throughout her career with Tetra Tech. In recent years, she has taken short-term assignments to share her expertise and experience with other projects in the Asia Pacific region, including the Philippines and Vietnam.

“From all the assignments that were given to me, I learned a lot about the projects in the world and their achievements as well as the problems they face too.”

Utik has worked with Tetra Tech on three projects over the course of 11 years. She pursued other opportunities during those 11 years, but came back because she felt more suited and more supported professionally by Tetra Tech and their projects.

Her fondest memories are of the friendships she has created with other Tetra Tech field and home office staff. “I feel very close with them and they are supportive with all that we need.”

--

--

Tetra Tech International Development
#TtInspires

Tetra Tech is a leading, global consulting firm providing practical and sustainable international development services — tetratech.com/intdev