Data Analysis and Consulting for SOIL in Haïti

Tucker Cahill Chambers
Tucker Chambers’ portfolio
2 min readNov 29, 2018

Design challenge: Put four years of disjointed data on clients, payments, profitability, etcetera to effective use for a non-profit in Haïti focusing on providing composting toilets as a public sanitation and agriculture solution.

Tools used: Data analysis/visualization using Julia and R.

SOIL is one of the leading sanitation providers in Haïti

Having tried to start my own composting toilet business a few years ago (see the Terra-Loo story in my portfolio), I ended up visiting SOIL in Haïti to observe how they ran an eco-friendly, scalable composting system in an urban environment. I have kept in touch and wanted to continue to contribute to their project, so I reached out and offered to help them leverage the data they had been collecting since 2015. Below are just a few examples of some visualizations I have created for SOIL this year.

Data science is humanity’s sixth sense, in a way. It allows us to discern the patterns that are all around us yet lay beyond the perceptive powers of our bare senses.

--

--