Lightfighter : A 3D-printed improved lacrosse glove

Tucker Cahill Chambers
Tucker Chambers’ portfolio
3 min readNov 29, 2018

Design challenge: Use modern technology to create an improved lacrosse glove that better emulates the tactile control of the bare hand while increasing protection and durability.

Tools used: CAD (Rhino, Fusion360), textile, prototyping, 3D printing, Adobe

I played lacrosse for thirteen years, retiring from competition after my final year of university. All lacrosse players know that it is easier to play barehanded than with the bulky gloves one has to wear to protect themself. In my junior year at UC Berkeley, I set out to resolve this issue by making my own set of gloves, cutting out the baggy leathery interior and sewing in a tight-fitting and well-gripped batting glove. These would be the gloves I would play with for my last two years of competition — the best gloves I ever played with.

My modified glove.

I realized there might be some potential in trying to make more of these gloves, and being an inventor and entrepreneur at heart, I gave it a serious try, under the project name Lightfighter (after a mysterious, misty road in my native Northern California).

At this time, I had been working at Autodesk’s Pier 9 workspace and had become very interested in additive manufacturing and thought if I am going to try to make something cutting-edge, I might as well go all the way up to the cutting-edge. The objective became to use 3D printing to create a light-weight, durable, form-fitted glove exterior, and then sew in a well-fitted gripped interior.

The logo and initial conceptual sketch.
An iteration of the 3D model for printing.
A foam mockup with original glove for comparison.

I was able to patent the concept and made several pairs of gloves, but I never could get the 3D printed materials to be durable enough for actual use. It was a wonderful and motivating learning experience and I remained convinced that more lacrosse players should learn how to sew.

--

--