Stuff

Happiness is a good coffee mug

It doesn't take much to make me happy

Lawrence
$tuff

--

It seems I’ve always had a favourite coffee mug.

At work for years, my favourite was the steel mug at the top of a Thermos.

When I worked in industry, we would get gifts of steel travel mugs with industrial logos.

Caterpillar and John Deere were popular. A lot of companies issued travel mugs as safety awards, or awards for perfect attendance.

My favourite mug at present is a Royal Canadian Legion mug. I’m a member of the Legion.

I received presents of mugs from friends who do pottery. Some of them are really nice mugs. One pottery mug has the name of my friend who made it inscribed in the clay before it was fired. That mug is a precious keepsake. It’s almost too precious to drink coffee out of.

We have Christmas mugs that must’ve been a present from years ago, but I can’t remember who gave them to us.

We have mugs featuring logos of antique cars on the side.

We have beer steins from Germany with those carved lids you lift up with a thumb lever. We have a half dozen of those.

When I worked in journalism, we drank a lot of coffee. I’m sure some days we drank 10 to 15 cups.

There’s nothing like the feel of a good mug. You know when you grip it in the hand. The creator of a great mug doesn’t make the side straight up and down, but flares the mug out at the top so the curve of the mug rests on your lip. It’s that flare that is the finishing touch on a fine mug. You know the potter has created this mug with care.

If I were to put a simple logo on the side of a good coffee mug, it might be: “This mug makes me happy.

Thanks for reading.

This article is in the publication, $tuff. You’re welcome to contribute.

--

--

Lawrence
$tuff
Editor for

Editor of 'Page One: Writers on Writing', and 'Writer's Reflect.' You're welcome to write for either publication. I love writing and reading on Medium.