SHOPPING

I love a good bargain

Browsing second-hand stores is a passion

Lawrence
$tuff

--

$tuff logo. For the new publication, $tuff. Photo by Gaelle Marcel, UnSplash.

I love second-hand stores.

There is one secondhand store that used to be a favourite of mine, I won’t name it, but it’s run by a religious organization.

Basically items are donated in the back door, everything from hardware to books to plates, furniture, computers, keyboards, shoes, sports equipment, sewing accessories, music on discs and cassettes, games, jewellery, watches.

A lot of the items must be from estate sales.

I love to browse the items and some good bargains can be found.

I found a better second-hand store.

One nearby town has a second-hand store created right at the town garbage dump. The rescued finds that I’ve bought there include a silver tea set with tray, coffee, and tea server, with cream and sugar bowl, all in beautiful silver and chrome for $15.

We bought two seven foot high second-hand book shelves for $20 each. I looked up what they were new. I’m not sure of the brand but something that looks a lot like them are $700 each new.

I bought a rocking chair. I’m sitting in it now as I type. $15.

I bought those items on my first visit to that second-hand store. It is open from 8:00 to 4:00 each weekday and run by volunteers.

After paying for my chosen items I told the volunteer cashier, “I’ll pick these items up tomorrow.”

“No,” she said. “All items bought today must be removed today. No returns.”

So I stuffed everything in my van and secured the rocking chair on top.

Driving down the road we must’ve looked like the Beverly Hillbillies.

But we made some great bargains.

Thanks for reading.

If you want to contribute to $tuff, send me a comment.

--

--

Lawrence
$tuff
Editor for

Editor of 'Page One: Writers on Writing', and 'Writer's Reflect.' You're welcome to write for either publication. I love writing and reading on Medium.