How to sleep in your car at a truck stop

Safety tips for solo female travelers

Carmen Sisson
TumbleweedSOUTH

--

My car isn’t ideal to sleep in, but it works. (Photo by Carmen K. Sisson/Cloudybright)

It’s a rainy summer night in Alabama, and I’m sleeping in my car at a truck stop. There’s a hotel across the street, but it’s too expensive and has a reputation for being sketchy. The good hotels are booked, so I’m making the best of it.

Last year, I began sleeping at truck stops regularly. It’s better than you think.

And no, I’m not a hardcore survivalist, hanging out in my oh-so-Instagrammable van with my bearded boyfriend, Sven. I’m a 45-year-old, single journalist driving a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am GT Coupe. It helps that I’m short. Unfortunately, I’m also wide. I make it work.

I adore nice hotels and think they’re safer for women traveling alone. Show me blackout curtains, plush carpet, and a down comforter and I’ll show you how a lifelong insomniac can get a solid 36 hours of sleep.

But sometimes your plans get derailed. Before you choose a Walmart parking lot or a rest area, consider bedding down at a truck stop. In some cities across the Southern United States, they’re a safer alternative.

--

--

Carmen Sisson
TumbleweedSOUTH

Writer. Photographer. Journalist. Storyteller. National correspondent, forever freelance. Raw. Moody. Driven by emotion. Fueled by black coffee and sheer grit.