Anwar Magara’s Story Sept 12th 2018-Sept 12th 2019

Anwar Magara
Tunapanda Institute
2 min readSep 18, 2018

Let me start by telling you a brief history about my tech background. I was a computer enthusiast since I was in high school. (form three to be precise). Tech was not what I wanted to choose as my career. Initially, I always wanted to be an architect. My father was an architect and so I told him to teach me architecture but quite unfortunately, he died as a result of heavy drinking and my dream of being an architect died with him.

I found a new interest which was photography. I practiced photography for a year then cleared high school and I stopped for a while because getting the equipment was not that easy. Later I joined a college where I studied graphic design and web development. I fell in love with web design and I was one of the best student with creative web design project and i received an award for it.

I got an internship at a web development company based in Nairobi, Kenya where i worked there for a year then my contract ended. i chose to go back to school and a i joined Tunapanda Institute where i underwent a three intensive training in tech, design and business. in June 2018 i graduated from Tunapanda Institute.

At the moment i am an advanced trainee at Tunapanda Institute where I’m honing my skill of of web development while getting coaching from more experienced Tunapanda members. I’m also learning other important skills such as communication and personal branding. I plan to major in web design, graphic design, photography and a bit of networking in the coming years. i know i am in good hands and it will help me get in the next level in my career.

After i am done with my apprenticeship program i have two options, 1) to continue with Tunapanda as a journeyman or 2) Have my own startup that deals web design and photography.

--

--

Anwar Magara
Tunapanda Institute

Front-end web engineer | Trainee | Graphic designer | Photographer