TECH INNOVATION GEARS.

Wendy Mwangi
Tunapanda Institute
3 min readApr 29, 2019

TURNING 12-YEAR-OLDS TO TECHY.

Kids, the drooling, peeing, chuckling, chubby cheeks, cheekiness, the “aaaw”, the wanting everything. Kids are cute and annoying don’t think even the heartless can ignore or even hate them, I guess. Ironically, I do okay hate is a strong word am just confused around them considering the fact I have my own 2 yr old. But funny enough with my own it’s simple I just smile and she smiles back, I get annoyed she gets me, in a bad mood cuddles me, she just knows how to flow with my pace.

So the other day, May to be precise, we were assigned a group of 12-year-old girls to turn to techy and sign up for tech novation which is a worldwide challenge/competition.
Tech novation is one of the world’s largest technology entrepreneurship program for girls aged 10–18. It runs across 100+ countries.
At first, I was uncertain working with kids wondering how I should react what to say around them or even as minor as, should I smile or frown and if so, hope I don’t smile too much or frown much.

And there they were, innocent kids, staring waiting for us to wow them. Ha! normally my first reaction would be running away or paving the way to one of my team members to scope in but these kids were different it’s like we were light in a dark room.

I was surprised by how they reacted evidently I misjudged them and instead they wowed us. They were eager to learn and they grew on me. I loved how they were curious when I was their age curiosity was a crime we learnt to not ask on things that didn’t concern us unless am from a different timeline you will all agree with me.

Time has changed technology has changed a lot since then. From alarm clocks, floppy disks, pay phones it was a better time, a simpler time. Doesn’t life without smartphones or kids stare at screens all times seem pretty nice right about now? Today telling a kid what’s wrong and good is as same as telling them to go and google ask internet may sound rude but this is where technology has brought us.

And am happy am training these kids the new era. Training a kid to design come up with problem facing society and develop a tech solution sounds hard right? But, with the right mindset set and brilliant brains ready to learn and in for corrections and feedbacks trust me it’s quite easy. So, I take back my previous word Kids are not annoying rather inspiring.

Wish us luck!!!!

--

--