CRAZY LOVE PEEK…

Wendy Mwangi
Tunapanda Institute
3 min readFeb 14, 2019
…taking huge loans to impress your lover

The peek of red roses, red dresses, red suits, red scarfs red, red, red, red, red…The season where everywhere your face turns all you see is red, literally.

Okay, don’t get me wrong I ‘’love’’ love, considering the fact that I tell my kid every morning before going to work “love you baby” but frankly, this is my worst day in the month of February, I know you’re like….only cause you haven't experienced love.

So, for the information I have. Its cute and beautiful all the lovey-dovey stuff but seriously do you have to lose your mind once you’re in love.

I mean, it’s funny how this month virtually changes everything and everyone from how they talk, eat, text or even sleep. It’s absurd how people quickly switch to a whole new alternative universe from a busy nerd to a drooling freak. Its like LOVE drags a madness menu, men taking huge loans to impress their women by taking them to large resorts/restaurants and women going an extent of buying a wig or hair extension worth 250,000ksh which I doubt their minimum annual salary can handle.

For instance, look at some love songs lyrics like Bruno Mars bursts vocally saying, “he would jump in front of a train for her, take a grenade and throw his hand on a blade for her”…whoever she is, she’s lucky. Let’s be realistic we’ve all seen how people run for their dear lives once a gunshot is fired, I know I would, regardless of having a lover in the midst.

So, yeah there is something insane about those lyrics or whatever love drug they’re on they better join an AA meeting before they lose it. Songs should be something deep and poetic not crazy. Before I go all bonkers and catch a grenade for you, I should sit down and think: What really is a grenade?

We’ve all heard extreme cases of love especially in Kenya, where a woman is sentenced to life in jail for stubbing his lover who “allegedly” cheated on him or a guy spends all his school fees money to pay for his girl tuition fee apparently she deserves education more than he does.

As if money doesn’t say it all, a man files a case in court where he donated a kidney to his brother’s girlfriend only to find out the brother was in fact, a boyfriend and soon to be husband, or an eighteen-year-old girl falling madly in love with a dying ninety-eight wealthy guy and insists on marriage before the old man kicks the bucket. Honestly, old dude, it's your dying hours donate to charity, sponsors your grandkids or something.

I may be living in a different realm where love dominates or maybe just doesn't click with me but, you can all agree with me, does it have to drive all your thinking hormones away and be blank or insane? Do you have to lose your mind once you're in love?

HAPPY VALENTINES EVERYBODY……use your head, not your heart.

--

--