Right Place and Right Time

Sai Srikar Vaidyula
Tuppence from a Toastmaster
4 min readMay 10, 2020

I believe in being in the right place at the right time.

While I did have my stints on the stage when there was no avoiding the situation, I was in constant dread of such times. I used to imagine various scenarios where I bombed and that did not help my case either. My friends, however, encouraged me throughout and I could share my thoughts more fluently with them.

During the latter half of Engineering, I had heard about Toastmasters. My idea of Toastmasters was limited to it being a platform to improve public speaking. But…

“It is for people who want to become TED speakers or great orators. I don’t want all that! I just want to be little confident while speaking.”

The academics, internships, and procrastination engulfed me leaving the thoughts about Toastmasters astray. I joined Qualcomm, Bangalore after graduating from college and as fate would have it, the company had a Toastmasters club— Qonverse. I knew I had to make the most of the resources at my disposal. Even more so when the opportunity had been within grabbing reach. This was the Right Time.

August 9, 2017, marked the first-ever Toastmasters meeting I had attended.

There were several thoughts that were running in my mind. Second-guessing. Cold feet. What if someone asks me to speak on the stage? Maybe, I should not attend. Maybe I can attend some other time. My thoughts did not stop, but my feet did not either. Resolute, they made their way to the meeting room.

I entered the room rather nervously. The first thing I remember was the cheery smile with which I was welcomed. The smile belonged to the then Club President. A couple of other people welcomed and beckoned me to have a seat. I chose to sit in the last row. Though the air conditioning was in full flow, I felt at ease and warm. I waved hi from afar to a few faces I could place. In the next few minutes, everyone settled down and the meeting was in order.

Toastmasters Meeting in progress

People were coming onto the stage, performed the roles they were supposed to do and went back. Everyone who came onto the stage was greeted with encouraging applause and the stage was handed off by the person already on stage with a firm handshake. Does this have the same effect I felt as I entered the room? Quite possible.

There were two Prepared Speakers lined up for that meeting along with their Speech Evaluators. Uh-Oh! People judge here?! And something called “Table Topics Session” where the audience is supposed to volunteer to speak on a topic given right then or they would be pulled to talk about it. Yikes! Things are not looking good. Can I make a quick escape? NO, let’s see this through!

The applause while calling the first Prepared Speaker brought me back to the meeting. He finished his speech and then the second Speaker did the same. I was quick to notice that English was not their primary subject at school. But what they both had in common was the courage to learn. I found that inspiring. But I was wary looking at the Evaluators scribbling fastidiously in their notes.

The Table Topics Session was slightly awkward. Initially, few folks came forward willingly, but for the latter topics, people were suggested to try. The topics were simple enough to not freeze on stage dumbstruck. Each topic transported me to a thought. What would I talk about if I was called? Oh, I think sharing this incident would make sense! I can definitely try this! I did not.

The biggest surprise was yet to arrive — Evaluation. The Evaluators told about the points pertaining to the skills the Speakers have shown. As if applying a balm, they soothingly narrated the instances that could have been better. Lastly, they concluded by thanking each of the Speakers for their speech. Wait?! This is not judgemental! This is constructive! This is insightful!

Customary group shot post-meeting

The meeting had ended and I could see people talking to one another. They were exchanging compliments and suggestions. I could sense that everyone had a positive glow of having learned something out of the meeting, including the passive audience such as myself. I learned that I was in the Right Place.

--

--

Sai Srikar Vaidyula
Tuppence from a Toastmaster

Introverted Toastmaster | Movie buff | Marvel geek | Cricket follower