Holiday Giveaway & Christie Lynam Interview

Turing School
turingschool
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2017

Many of us will choose to make New Year’s resolutions.
Will yours be “start a career I love”?

As the holidays approach maybe you’re spending time with family or just enjoying some downtime by yourself. Step away from the TV and finish your application to Turing. Need a little extra incentive?

Turing’s 2017 Holiday Giveaway!

Submit an application between December 12th and January 2nd and you can win:

  • 1st Prize: $500 Amazon Gift Card & $500 Tuition Credit
  • 2nd Prize: $250 Amazon Gift Card & $500 Tuition Credit
  • 3rd Prize: $50 Amazon Gift Card & $500 Tuition Credit

To enter you just need to add “HOLIDAYS” to your application’s “Have a Code?” field. You do not need to be accepted to win. We anticipate approximately 75 applications during the entry period. Apply now!

Christie’s Year of Change

After 10 years as a lawyer, Christie Lynam was ready to change gears and 2017 was the time. She and Jeff sat down for a Q&A that you can find on our Turing School Podcast on iTunes or listen to it on LibSyn. Here’s a preview:

You spent a lot of time in law school — how could you consider walking away from that career?
I figured I had a law degree, I don’t really have any other options. I had 10 years in and couldn’t do 30 more.

Then what?
I started seeing a career coach and she had me do a personality assessment. It talks about what people with your personality type enjoy doing, and software development was on the top of the list. I am an ISTJ.

So how did you get started?
I became obsessed with it. I’d sit at home on Codecademy for ten hours every Friday night. I enrolled in an online BS program. Then my advisor convinced me to look into a coding school. I found Turing. Continued…

I’m Jeff Casimir, the Executive Director of the Turing School of Software & Design. I’m, too, have some big plans for the holiday break that might just turn into watching HGTV.

--

--

Turing School
turingschool

This account is now inactive. For the latest from Turing, visit our community’s Medium publication instead: https://medium.com/turingschool