Why Turing?

Kayt Hensley
turingschool
Published in
2 min readJan 10, 2018
Turing students show off their work at Demo Night

It’s a question we ask every applicant to our program. ‘Why Turing? What makes us the right place for you?’ But it’s a question that can just as easily be turned around on our employees. For me in particular, who jumped into a moving truck and drove from North Carolina to Colorado in order to join the Turing team, it’s a question I’ve been asked a lot recently. So, why did I leave the familiar East Coast for a new adventure in the mountains?

It’s not too much of an exaggeration to say I am an old hand at the code school scene. I worked for The Iron Yard for 2 1/2 years across 4 campuses and have spoken to and been interviewed by a number of other schools in my journey. I’ve had some amazing experiences and met some fantastic educators and students, yet I knew from my first conversations with Turing that they were something different and special.

Turing is a non-profit and they are beholden to no-one except their students. The focus is on making students job ready and providing them with a comprehensive education.

Turing lives and breathes their mission. “…to unlock human potential by training a diverse, inclusive student body to succeed in high-fulfillment technical careers.” As much effort is spent on making the student body think critically about improving the tech industry as on teaching them to be successful in the industry.

These things are key components of what makes Turing special. But the best thing I’ve found in my three short months here is the people. The staff are incredibly talented, kind and welcoming and they care deeply about the success of their students and each other. The students are driven and courageous individuals who put their lives on hold for seven months to make the leap to a new career.

So, for me, the real answer to ‘Why Turing’ is because I get to be a part of the Turing family. And that is something well worth the 1,673 mile trip.

Kayt is the Initiatives Coordinator at Turing School of Software & Design in Denver, Colorado. For questions about all things code school related or the best part of driving a 15' truck across the country, email kayt@turing.io. For pictures of birds eating sushi, follow her on twitter, @kaytwritescode.

--

--