A new “medium” on the Turkish economy

Emre Deliveli
Turkish Economy
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2016

--

As you may (or may not) know, I recently became yet another Turkish press casualty by getting sacked from English-language Turkish daily Hurriyet Daily News (HDN), where I had been writing economics columns, mainly on the Turkish economy, twice a week since November 2008.

I still have my regular blog at Nouriel Roubini’s EconoMonitor- except that it is not really your typical blog anymore. Nouriel struck a deal with Ashmore Media over the summer, effectively turning the blog into an edited webpage. Not that there is anything wrong with that- on the contrary, I am pleased that my posts there are exposed to a second set of eyes before being published, just like it was over at HDN. So I will continue to use EconoMonitor for more formal pieces. However, I also need a place where I would be able to jot down a few sentences regularly, hopefully daily. After all, after having succeeded in my last New Year’s Resolution of losing weight (I managed to go down from 210 to my lightweight crew weight -two decades ago- of 149 pounds), I set this year’s goal as returning to blogging. Anyway, I was trying to decide between Blogger and Wordpress when a friend suggested Medium, which, honestly, I had not heard before. A few minutes of google search convinced me to give it a try, and here I am, typing my very first post. And I should say I am very impressed with Medium so far, especially with its ease of use and minimalist design concentrating on what is most important- putting your ideas down quickly and efficiently.

Anyway, I will be sharing my views on economics, mostly the Turkish economy (and politics with and economics twist, like in the column that got me sacked), but also regional and global developments, book reviews, summaries of interesting academic papers and the occasional weird odds and ends, such as Yogi Berra on the Turkish economy, iPhonenomics and economics of weed, daylight saving time or genocide here. So, until my next post…

--

--

Emre Deliveli
Turkish Economy

Jack of all trades, master of none:Economist, sacked (http://bit.ly/1j0f9yC) @HDNER columnist (http://bit.ly/1aNpCC7), blogger, hotelier&Beşiktaş fan(21311)