#MeetTheTutellusTeam: interview with Javier Ortiz, CTO at Tutellus

Nacho Hontoria
Tutellus.io
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2018

How was your arrival at the Tutellus team and what have you learned on a personal and professional level since you arrived?

Long time ago … I was bored with my eternal projects with sad clients. At the end of 2012, I was talking with Miguel Caballero about new challenges and we started with Tutellus. To create a product from scratch is an incredibly difficult one, but I’ve always liked challenges.

I love work on Tutellus using the technology we need to fulfill a certain goal. Maybe we are so crazy. We always try any technology, framework or service that can help us. The new technical challenge is the Blockchain of NEM.

On a personal and professional level, I enjoy the best team I have ever worked with; they are incredible.

When was the first time you heard of blockchain technology?

I’ve known Bitcoin since its inception. Blockchain was very interesting although the performance indicated that it was a technology to mature. One of many technologies with great expectations. I did not see real application in the short term.

We stumbled on Tutellus again with Bitcoin in 2014, when its price was around $ 700. We were evaluating if we added it as a form of payment, and surely we made a mistake again by not using it.

Do you think blockchain technology has come to stay or is it a fad?

I think is unstoppable. For me the Blockchain revolution started with Ethereum and its Smart Contracts, and also with the decentralized applications. The following generations of Blockchains like NEO, ADA, ARK, NEM, IOTA, … have their particular characteristics that improve the original in some aspects.

I’m in love with NEM, I think it’s undervalued and with great potential.

Over time we will see decentralized applications that will kick off the value of the Internet.

Why do you think blockchain technology can change the world of education?

I believe it, it’s one of the goals of our project. We will change the way to relate students and teachers who will work together to promote knowledge learning. We will give the opportunity to people, who never had it, to conquer their lives from the effort in learning. It’s amazing.

What is being done to change the lives of more than 100 million people from Tutellus? What are your feelings about it?

From my point of view, we have a long way to go. Transforming from a centralized project to a decentralized one has enough challenges that we will face, thinking about our objectives.

I would never have thought of being part of a project with such an ambitious goal. I am very proud to participate.

When you go out of the Tutellus HQ, how is your life? What are your hobbies?

The truth is that lately I’m super focused on Tutellus.io, but in my free time I dedicate to my family. My latest hobby to relieve stress is play timbal in a Batucada, if you like the Brazilian percussion rhythms I suggest it.

--

--