Einar Flaa

Tvergastein Journal
Tvergastein Journal
2 min readNov 28, 2020

“I was 12 when I began to write music. I still remember how liberating it felt to create something all by myself on my dad’s crooked guitar. It was like the songs just poured out of it.”

Einar Flaa heard music from this guitar throughout his childhood, accompanied by his father’s protest songs — to such an extent that, for a while, Flaa thought that was the only kind of song one could write. Three decades later, he now believes it is his musical destiny to use music to state what he himself fights for. For Flaa, climate change is the greatest threat to our planet and the people inhabiting it.

With gorgeous melodies and an A-team of fellow musicians, Flaa has created an album with an eternally relevant and essential message. In his new album, Silent String, he truly shows his love for nature. At the same time, he sharply points out how humanity depletes our resources and its consequences. How the rich guards their riches, and no matter how much the Earth provides us with food, water, and other necessities, we take it for granted.

“I’m not that religious, but when I’m out in nature I feel closer to some of the fundamental questions of life. I think nature itself holds some of the answers, and that the birds sing about it, the wind whispers it, and how we all must begin to consider how we are treating what we have” says Flaa.

--

--

Tvergastein Journal
Tvergastein Journal

Tvergastein is an interdisciplinary journal based at the Centre for Development and Environment at the University of Oslo (SUM).