Instagram/Snapchat Stories as the Future of News

Sidney Brunson
#TVRA4040
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2017

I do for see these social media platforms becoming the future of news. Since most people are on these social networks throughout majority of the day, I believe that obtaining news through these platforms would be very effective as well as convenient.

More people are on these social media sites longer than people who watch the news to get their information. I don’t believe that these sites will take over as far as knocking TV or anything platform to obtain news out the picture, but I do believe that this will be effective in addition to other news outlets.

Using Instagram to cover the Breast Cancer walk in Coney Island made it more fun and informative for me. I was able to interview people and listen to the stories they all had for me. I was able to record my surroundings so that people could see my location to get an idea of exactly where this story took place. Interviewing different groups and organizations that participated in the walk every year was interesting for me because I was able to get their viewpoint and messages across through storytelling using Instagram and the walk was very newsworthy.

It’s a huge event that takes place every year in Central Park and most of the time, Prospect Park. This year instead of it taking place in Prospect Park, it was relocated to Coney Island and the walk took place on the Boardwalk. However, that did not stop people from coming out to participate in the walk and then turning up once they got to the finish line.

Getting creative is the best part. Using the highlighter and being able to write on pictures and videos makes it more creative and entertaining. This methods catches the viewers eye and people would become more interested in reading the captions instead of just writing little words on a plain screen. You can even get creative with color.

As you can see I used the colors pink and white in representation of Breast Cancer but in class for National Savings Day, the main color being used to write in was green to represent money and it is all about creativity. The Boomerang effect brings the video to life in my opinion and keeps in intriguing. Also the use of emojis plays a big part in the creativity of stories that are covered that are news worthy.

--

--