Love or Addiction?

Bilal Ahmed
The Writers Café
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2015

--

Couple walking in a forest
Photo Credit: Pexels

Love and addiction are almost very close in meaning and it is very hard to differentiate between both terms. In both conditions, you are stuck to something and you cannot leave it behind. For instance, we say that we are fond of someone, and meeting that person daily is now become our need. In this case, the attraction towards that person could be love or only addiction. Now for a while, we consider that it is only true love and there is no need for addiction I may raise a question here. What if you meet someone daily and you say that you are in love with that person, and not meeting for just one day could make you sick, than what will happen in the case of addiction? Well near to me, the same situation will also be in case of addiction.

Let me brief you a little more about these two terms to see any other possibility to find out the differences. First of all, I will talk about the “Addiction” term because it seems too dangerous. If I am addicted to any of my friends, I will gradually start feeling possessive about her and it will hurt me if she talks to someone else and ignores me. In this case, it will also be very hurtful for me if she cancels any gathering or meeting. Not meeting her even for only one day will start killing me and my mind will start thinking negatively, maybe she is ignoring me, maybe she has got any other friend who is well more than me, maybe she is now bored of me or my gathering and blah blah.

So the condition of addiction maybe not be very bad but the symptoms and side effects are very dangerous and could be harmful as well. Now the second term “Love” could be almost the same as addiction. If I am in love with someone it will be very obvious that I am very possessive about her and that is a very similar condition feels in addiction. Due to my possessiveness, I will never let her talk to anyone else and I will always keep myself stuck to her. If she could not meet for only one day the side effects and symptoms will be exactly like in the addiction scenario.

By the briefings of these terms, I do not think that there is any difference between love and addiction, and judging which condition you are in is also not possible. In both conditions, there are also some positive but apprehensive situations that exist, i.e., you never want to lose that friend and you will never let her down due to any reason and you will always try to keep her happy in any condition.

But unfortunately, there is another point of grief. If Lust exists somewhere deep inside you, then you may not be fulfilling the requirements or need of love and addiction. These both things are infinite and very good to feel until lust comes in between and destroys both terms of the relationship and then the love or addiction will end up from your mind remaining only lust behind.

Well, sticking to the point of discussion. It is very hard or maybe almost not possible to differentiate between both of these conditions you feel. People say that they are in love with someone or maybe something, it could not be love or maybe they are only addicted and vice versa. By passing the time and getting space, things might wind up from the mind. The only thing left out will be yourself. Whether it is love or addiction, after ages you will miss the past and the people or the thing you used to do. Everything has exit gates and every time you have the opportunity to quit so defining both things differently is not fair enough. Accepting the truth will be a better idea that these all things all just part of life and not more than this, live it and enjoy it, and after it is gone just remember it as a good memory.

--

--

Bilal Ahmed
The Writers Café

Hi, My name is Bilal and I am a writer. I mostly write about the true face of life which I have seen and maybe other people also resemble the stories.