Missing you Shillong Haze

Bilal Ahmed
The Writers Café
Published in
2 min readMay 28, 2013

--

Working table
Photo Credit: Pexels

Back in the year 2007 when I was a reader of books and blogs, I found that one of my Social Networking Site friends write articles on a blog called “Shillong Haze”. It was quite an interesting blog and I was used to following the blog every time it gets new posts. Shillong Haze was great enough to motivate me in my life and it always made many thoughts in mind like I am really present in the story while reading that blog. The blog was basically portraying the place in India name Shillong which is currently the state capital of Meghalaya, it is also better known as Scotland of East. The blog described the relationship of the writer with Shillong. Whenever the writer portray Shillong, the description of her words and the magic in her articles took me to the place, and while reading the articles I felt myself living in Shillong. Because of Shillong Haze, now I love the place and I wish one day I will visit Shillong just to see how beautiful the place God has made in this world.

25 Random Things, is my favorite article from the blog. This article was purely about the relationship of the writer with Shillong. In this article, the writer defined that in how many ways she misses her home town Shillong while living in Mumbai. She defined all that in 25 points, like this was a point, “ I miss Shillong every time I have to travel in crowded buses and trains every hot and sweaty summer. “. Maybe everyone living in big cities does miss their little hometown, and this type of thing makes a person cry.

In 2010, the writer of Shillong Haze wrote her last article and then she disappeared from the blog. I waited for her new posts till 2012 but the blog was in the same position, there were no new articles. Fortunately, she was on my friend list on a Social Networking Site. So I decided that I will talk to her and will ask her why she had left writing and will tell her to continue writing. I talked to her and requested her to continue her blog, Shillong Haze. So far, she has made a promise that she will soon come up with a new article for Shillong Haze, and I am waiting for it. Maybe there are so many other people who were also the reader of Shillong Haze but they do not have the resource to approach the writer, they will also be happy to see Shillong Haze back. I will be really happy to see Shillong Haze back and will continue my reading on this blog.

--

--

Bilal Ahmed
The Writers Café

Hi, My name is Bilal and I am a writer. I mostly write about the true face of life which I have seen and maybe other people also resemble the stories.