Why I think…

Life is good, still there are somethings which needs more than a thought. 

Shiva Kant Vyas
4 min readJun 29, 2014

“A writer can say a simple thing in a hundred ways, when you say that you will do. I thought you’d write.” I say that to myself almost every time there is a compelling thought in my head.

But before you read further please play this song here. on head on to Sound Cloud or something for some good music.

Most of us keep ourselves occupied with things with does not need attention, cloud our minds with information and viewpoints that are not ours, fill ourselves with conversations and stories of people, work over things more than necessary or even take up more work, even sedated or arbitrated. Resting our minds too does happen. We read books and spend time with people, you all get it. We do all that will keep us engaged and not let our minds be free.

But how often do you give a thought to things that are beyond your scope of imagination? What do you think of shaping of clouds? Rearing sheep and thinking how mountains formed? The ideas is not what do you think of, but if you think at all. Mental exercising using math and puzzles is one thing thinking beyond what you imagined is making a stretch.

I think.

Of perfectly filled spaces.

I recently got into an accident, I could have got into an pulmonary arrest as my cabin air conditioner leaked all sorts of killer gases. I almost passed out and could have got into major trouble because of it. I mean most of people think of life, thank god for what they love and live their life with more gratitude and humility. I on contrary, thought of the conversation that I should have had with my mom, I missed her morning call. I went a little downhill with the idea of it. I thought of world without me, spaces perfectly filled by others, people being affected but getting back to normal; you know, life goes on. Seeing yourself as a part of bigger picture and getting to know significance of it one thing. Desolating yourself and being a third person in your life, pretty surprisingly is amusing and honestly very disturbing. This is compelling I thought.

More thought I gave to narratives of our lives.

Sounds more like those romantic infallible remedies to expression but this is how it is. Life of a kid who jumped in our apartment backyard over the roof because his house caught fire, that expression which is apologetic yet asking if he can enter our house. Timid yet amusing, how people do not cross their limited sense of logic.

Answering questions, why a few people have fairly tales and others Nutella? And replying, “People who have Nutella, they get up in middle of night to have a scoop and in the morning as they get up for a drink of fresh water from the fridge they smile at their doing last night. Also, as they leave for work when they should have probably been writing, doodling or painting, it is Nutella which pushes them to be stay focused as they chase their ambition — Nutella is the inspiration blended in the morning coffee. Tell me is this less than an urban fairy-tale?” I think these questions deserve more than a thought.

Finding things and thinking of expressing jealousy and sorrow, planting a blank canvas in the office so that you feel bad for not painting. Cringing looking at the white spaces and moments of ecstasy and veneer of joy as I think of surreal subject that I can put on the space. I think of colors burnt sienna for a face and charcoal for the smile and eyes. Looking at the people and seeing their emotions as subjects. This is invigorating and depressing thought.

In our everyday lives we are more than what we think, we can be more than what we have imagined. This is not about ambitions in life and this is definitely not about how creative you are. This is about if you can draw parallels in life.

We are busy being different from each other and at the same time trying to fit in everywhere. I find this thought very intriguing.

So while I start to think of finding more subjects for expression of my hazy mental state, please do make reading lists with novellas, write new alphabet on someones skin and take a slight longer shower in the middle of this afternoon. You might find something to ponder over, there are so many layers to our lives that we simply see through.

I think this is worth sharing over.

Also on a closing note — Listen to this classic by Beatles, Free as a bird

Cheers!

--

--

Shiva Kant Vyas

Everyday strategist, weekend artist. Books, hills, roads and a lot of food. Very bad writer — artist, designer in a tech and media setup