How Listening to the Quran help me memorise better

Azizi Khalid
TwentyEight Labs
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2018

One of the methods I use to revise and memorise the Quran is by listening to Quran recitation by my favourite qari. However since most Quran recitation are separated based on surah, I find it difficult to revise longer surahs like al-Baqarah, Ali Imran and the likes of it.

Until I found VerseByVerseQuran. You can download Quran recitation split by aya or page. Since I attempt to memorise 1 page a day, the page that I’m memorising will be on repeat the whole day. I’ll listen to it while driving, while working, walking and pretty much anything that I do alone. That way I don’t have to spend too much time in revising as it is always playing in the background for the whole day. I will also recite that page and a page before in my solah.

Here’s my memorisation plan.

  1. I start by listening to the page that I want to memorise.
  2. After listening for a few times (about 5 – 10 minutes) while looking at the mushaf, I start memorising it.
  3. I will end the first session as soon as I can recite the whole page from memory, even though it might not be really smooth yet.
  4. I will have the page that I’m memorising on repeat the whole day.
  5. I will recite the page that I memorised yesterday in the first rakaah of my solah and the page today in my second rakaah in prayers that day. If I’m short of time, I will recite it after solah. So that makes it 5 revisions for the day, excluding the revisions that I usually make through out the day while listening to the audio.

Fridays are my revision days. So on Fridays I will create a playlist consisting of all the 6 pages that I have memorised in that week and listen to it all day.

By using this method, the actual time I spend in sitting down and memorising the Quran is 30 minutes a day. I don’t count my revision times in prayers as every Muslim need to pray anyway. And I believe everybody can afford 30 minutes a day. Maybe cut 15 minutes from Facebook and 15 minutes from Netflix and you’ll find your 30 minutes.

One important step to memorising the Quran faster and better is by understanding it. You don’t need to quit your day job in order to enroll in a 4 year Arabic degree course to understand the basics of the Qura. All you need to do is memorise and understand surah al-Baqarah. And if you do 1 aya a day, you’ll be done in less than a year. Download our Baqarah app to understand the Quran in 300 days or less here.

--

--