Twin House-Embracing New Beginnings with my Twin Flame

Ted Burton
Twin Flame
Published in
4 min readJul 29, 2024
Photo taken by the author

Life was moving fast, ignited by the fervor of our relationship. Less than a year into being together, I was already living with her, embroiled in a court battle with my ex-wife over domestic assault allegations involving our kids. I was searching for purpose while my partner, my “flame,” dealt with her own challenges. Her ex-husband, let’s call him Dave, had a new girlfriend — let’s call her Lucy — who epitomized toxicity. Lucy did everything from running a background check on me to spreading lies about my flame and sending fake text messages pretending to be Dave. She even replied to photos Dave sent of their kids with a thumbs-down emoji, creating a hostile environment that my flame, a devoted mother of three, wasn’t prepared for. Dave’s financial power and Lucy’s interference seemed to be driving a wedge between my flame and her daughters, who started spending more time at Dave’s place. Deep down, I feared I was the cause of this growing distance.

At this time, my flame and I were both struggling with our drinking habits, consuming two bottles of alcohol daily, staying up all night, doing drugs, and engaging in reckless behavior. We were trying to escape from the negative energy surrounding us and start anew. I was still conflicted about leaving because of my kids. It was a heavy burden, causing me to harbor subconscious resentment toward my flame. My ex-wife, a bona fide Leo, made co-parenting in Seattle seem impossible. I tried to stay focused on the present, not letting my past drag me down, even though court battles and supervised visits with my kids weighed heavily on me.

My flame entrusted me with 8 figure settlement she received, and the responsibility that came along with it, and I wanted to make something of it. I was working at a top 100 company, and she wasn’t working at the time. Despite the slow pace at work, the money was good. My flame wanted me to stop working and commit fully to our relationship, but I was hesitant. What if things didn’t work out, and I was left without a job? She was giving up $4 million; what was I sacrificing? This fueled my resentment. I was leaving my kids and my fatherly responsibilities, and despite my ex’s domineering nature, it wasn’t an excuse to be absent. The court system offered no real power or credibility to prove my points.

One day, tired of it all, my flame and I were watching the news in Seattle. We noticed Arizona was turning blue for the first time during the Covid pandemic, and we began searching for houses there. How had we missed Arizona? It was sunny, hot, with nice pools and houses. We found a few homes, and despite everything, my flame still had a good relationship with her daughters. We connected with a realtor and bought a $1.4 million home sight unseen — a rush decision. My flame spent most of her cash for a downpayment, and we were deeply connected, often making impulsive choices. We packed everything, hired movers, and shipped our cars to Scottsdale for the closing. We traveled with two large American Bullies, taking a private jet because they were on most airlines’ no-fly lists.

Upon landing in Arizona, things got intense. I rented a car and wrecked it while drunk, leading to a big fight with my flame. I slept in the car that night, unsure if we would close on the house. My flame felt a bad energy, a karmic residue from my past. I had to beg her to sign the papers. We met the closing agent at our motel’s lobby, and after a heated argument, my flame reluctantly signed the papers. The agent asked if we were married, and my flame, frustrated, burst out that we weren’t, despite what the paperwork said. Something felt off, and my flame’s intuition was spot-on. I was grappling with the implications of a black man leaving his responsibilities behind with a white woman, half in and half out of work. This led to unforeseen craziness but taught me valuable lessons.

Lessons Learned

Moving Fast Isn’t Always Bad We bought the house for $1.4 million and sold it for $2 million. Renting it out for an average of $8k/month kickstarted our real estate business. Our fast decisions worked out in the end. Five years later, we now run a successful real estate business.

Ego Can Cloud Intuition My flame sensed bad energy from my parents before buying the home. My ego dismissed her feelings, but she was right. I couldn’t see it at the moment. Her intuition, though not articulated at the time, was correct. I learned to appreciate her insights, realizing our relationship was a mirror image — her feelings reflected mine, just expressed differently.

Investing Fully Both my flame and I were afraid but committed. By having “skin in the game,” our investment paid off. We overcame our fears together, leading to success.

Ignore the Haters My parents, her kids, her friends — everyone hated our decisions. Moving fast and going against the norm attracted a lot of negativity. It’s crucial not to let haters cloud your judgment or give you false feelings that can derail your journey.

Reflecting on this journey, I understand the importance of trusting intuition, managing ego, and committing fully to shared goals. These lessons have shaped our path and strengthened our bond.

--

--

Ted Burton
Twin Flame

I've spent the past four years in a bubble. When you realize wealth can only take you so far- it's time to get off my ass and do something good.