My Twitter Rules 

A Great Way To Use Twitter

JB Glossinger

--

My first post on Medium, and I thought I would do it on my Twitter Rules. I am actually liking the platform, clean and fun!

I have been getting a lot of questions on how I use Twitter. These are the rules that I have established as far as my Twitter usage. If you want me to follow you then this is the criteria I use, and why.

I user Twitter for 3 things:

  1. Communication
  2. Engagement
  3. Research

Communication

Twitter is the fastest way to get me. I get over 1000+ e-mails a day and I just don’t have time to answer them. That does not even include the Facebook messages, Linked-In messages etc…. Twitter is fast and easy. Bottom-line it works.

If you have something you need to get to me tweet me @MorningCoach and you will get a response within 24 hours.

Engagement

I am looking to have intelligent discussions. I don’t want just a one way feed. If you want me to follow you then engage. Ask me questions. RT my information. I will do the same. I will not follow you, if you do not engage. I am about real people, and real people behind companies. I am not going to follow a robot.

Research

I will follow you if you bring me amazing content. I am looking for resources. Twitter is easy, and fast. I have it segmented into lists. If you bring value I will follow you.

You don’t have to be a celebrity for me to follow, and it is not about the numbers, it is about your engagement. If you are there and you are willing to engage your Twitter will grow.

To follow or not to follow?

There are some people who believe in reciprocal follows. I just don’t believe in that. I see people with 100,000 followers, and they are following 100,000, that to me just screams spammer. That 100% ratio is just about reciprocal follows.

I have heard you won’t get DM’s from prospective prospects if you don’t follow everyone. I am not personally prospecting on Twitter, I am looking for relationships. If I miss out on a few opportunities I am ok with that. I will make up that up with the relationships I establish.

If you are new to Twitter and follow the rules above you will be fine. Check your Twitter feed a few times a day. Post original and interesting content. Treat others the way you want to be treated and engage. If you do that I would love to follow you. If not you will find your way off my follow list.

JB Glossinger is the CEO and Founder of the Alive Foundation Inc. you can find him on Twitter @MorningCoach

--

--

JB Glossinger

JB is the MorningCoach with over 3500 daily podcasts and over 26 million downloads he inspires — for more go to MorningCoach.com also Tweeting at @morningcoach