Teen arrested after Tweeting a bomb threat to American Airlines

Sarah (@QueenDemetriax_) sent a tweet to @AmericanAir

Lewis Lebentz
Twitter Stories

--

Last night, a 14 year-old Dutch girl called Sarah sent a Tweet to American Airlines, stating that her name was ‘Ibrahim’ and part of the terrorist organisation Al-Qaeda. She carried on to say that she was going to do something ‘really big’ on the 1st June.

@QueenDemetriax_’s Tweet, with @AmericanAir’s response.

As you can see, the Tweet went viral. Sarah realised her mistake, and after American Airlines mentioned the FBI she became very worried.

But, at the same time, the fame got to her. The Tweets, which have now been deleted said:

“Omg I got over 10k rts for that tweet omg”

“I feel famous omg”

“Okay today was the highlight of my twitter days”

“Over 20k followers yay”

But she was still anxious, and knew she was in trouble, yet still went to Twitter for help. So she also sent these Tweets:

“I need a lawyer. Any lawyers on here?”

“I’m not gonna tell my parents, they’ll tell me to delete my acc omg that would be the end of my life”

“I blocked the FBI just in case”

Before finally deleting everything she tried to make up some excuses saying her account had been hacked and that it was her sister’s birthday on the 1st June. Lastly, she wrote a note saying that it was an accident, she had previously typed out the Tweet, and decided not to send it, but it was in her drafts, and sent it by mistake.

This afternoon Dutch police confirmed that she has been arrested, and the investigation is ongoing.

https://twitter.com/Politie_Rdam/statuses/455715116903047168

A Police spokesman has said:

“She will be interviewed on Monday evening. Then we will wait and see what happens next.”

--

--