The Easiest Way to Make the Internet Safer

Just Ask!

Darrell Jones III
Two-Factor Everything
2 min readOct 6, 2016

--

I cringe at creating accounts without two factor auth capabilities. We all know it’s a necessity, so why aren’t more websites offering it? The answer is simple: we’re not asking for it.

I’ve had thousands of conversations with companies about two factor. From all these data points, the biggest thing I’ve learned is that regardless of stage, product, or stack, companies don’t integrate two factor because users don’t ask for it. Period.

Most software companies, especially startups, rely on customer feedback to shape the direction of their product. They follow a pretty standard feedback loop of test>observe>analyze>iterate when it comes to shipping product.

User requests are Forcing Functions that disrupt the typical product backlog discharge. When enough users ask for something, it typically gets done.

Example of how I make the internet safer by asking for 2FA

You can always direct your email to info/contact/support@DOMAIN.COM, and it’ll usually get to the right person. I’ve experimented with so many different email strategies, and I’ve finally settled on one that has really reliable performance. Here’s what it looks like:

Subject Line: Integrate 2FA?

Hey there, can you please integrate 2FA?

It’s really important to me and would make me feel a lot better about my account with y’all. Here are a few companies that I’ve heard do good work:

  • Authy: TOTP token for users, $0.09/auth
  • Telesign: SMS + User verification, enterprise pricing
  • Instant2FA: TOTP token for users, 15 minute integration

When could you make this feature available to customers?

Let me know if you use it and how it works for you. Do you have any emails like this that have worked? Please share below!

Darrell leads BD at Clef. If two-factor authentication has been in your backlog for months, but still hasn’t gotten prioritized, check out Clef’s new product Instant2FA.com — it’s two-factor authentication that takes minutes to integrate instead of weeks.

Did you enjoy this post? Click the ❤ below to recommend it to other interested readers!

--

--