Recent(ish) Portrait — The Barberousses’ Stitch People Piece

Kate Anderson
Two Little Kits
Published in
3 min readDec 24, 2022

(Initial note: Oh my, I have fallen so very far behind with these finished-piece wrap-up posts! I’m promising myself to do better at writing for my website for 2023. I guess it could be considered a new years resolution..! Anyway, onto the beautiful piece!)

A giveaway winner portrait

Earlier this year, I hit a few follower-count milestones (when my reels -and reels in general- were popping off). When I reached 4,000 followers, I decided to do a giveaway for a 4-character stitch people portrait. I’ve done this in the past and really enjoyed it as I make it clear that I have creative freedom to try different things, while still providing a finished piece that they will love.

During the stitching phase of this piece, I was wanting to have a “play” with some florals but didn’t have an opportunity with other works I had going on at the same time. Then time passed and my giveaway winner was being super patient, so I decided to throw in the florals for free for being incredibly kind and patient!

The beautiful little family.

Let’s see some details

If you asked me what my favourite part of this piece was, I honestly wouldn’t be able to tell you. It’s such a hard choice between the woman’s dress, all of their hair, the gradient in the dogs fur and -of course- the florals.

It often amazes me what we, as needlepoint artists, can do with something so intricate and tiny as a strand of floss. The smallest details can enhance a whole section so much, it truly feels like magic.

These florals. I just freaking adore them. The simplicity combined with the different stitches..! 😘👌
A doggo with a spiffy bandana! // Look at this dress. I am just amazed at what we can do with just a few strands of thread and some patience..!
An adorable little girl // Mom and dad all dressed up looking fancy

Final Thoughts

I truly love making stitch people portraits and it’s results like this that show me physical proof that my love for it, translates to something so special and beautiful.

I have a number of portraits that I’ve stitched since this piece was shipped off to the winner of the giveaway and I am looking forward to sharing details of those pieces with you, too. I honestly amaze myself with pretty much every portrait I make with how it looks once it’s finished.

But for now, let me know in the comments below what your favourite part of this piece is. I truly would love to know!

Thanks for reading! Feel free to hit that clap button if you found this piece interesting.

This was first posted at Two Little Kits.

Support me on Ko-fi. Follow me on Instagram, YouTube, Facebook or Twitter for more information.

--

--

Kate Anderson
Two Little Kits

Aussie living in WA, USA. After having 2 kids, I’m finding my footing again after being a front-end dev/designer, turning my hobbies into something more.