A SHORT STORY ABOUT PERSEVERANCE

Matt Read
Two-Minute Life Lessons
2 min readFeb 7, 2017

Perseverance is one of the biggest barriers to success.

For a lot of people the easiest option when things get tough is to simply give up. To pack it in, forget their dreams and resign themselves to a lifelong career working for the man and building someone else’s dream.

The thought of working for someone else for an entire career sends my head into a spin. There are so many opportunities to build your own business in whatever niche you choose.

But here’s the thing…

It takes fucking hard work and perseverance.

When I was young and trying to break into the digital industry I spent my days working free of charge in a Shoreditch startup while working six nights a week in a bar to pay the rent.

At the time I lived in a tiny attic flat with a toilet in my room and just a microwave to cook with.

I’ve been on the dole twice. But I didn’t give up.

Every spare minute I had I spent networking. Meeting the right people and telling them I was really fucking good and they should hire me.

And somebody did.

I spent the best part of 8 years working in different agencies, meeting the right people to allow me to take my next step. All of this was building up to eventually allow me to do my own thing. To start building my own dream.

But all this takes time and you have to take it step by step.

Now I’ve started building my own consultancy and I’ve won awesome clients in both the UK and Europe.

I’m only just getting started and at times it will be tough, but I will not give up.

Maybe you’ve already built your dream or maybe you’re just getting started.

Either way, work hard. Listen. Learn. But most of all PERSEVERE.

Follow me on Instagram.

--

--

Matt Read
Two-Minute Life Lessons

Spiritually awakened. Sober. ADHD diagnosis aged 30 transformed my life. Here to learn. Find me on Instagram @foxsaidwhat.