BEING ‘BUSY’ DOESN’T MEAN YOU ARE GETTING SHIT DONE

Matt Read
Two-Minute Life Lessons
2 min readFeb 8, 2017

I watched a video recently — a conversation between Warren Buffett and Bill Gates.

Bill was remarking about Warren’s low-tech organisation tool. A little black diary in which he notes down his appointments and things-to-do. Many of the days had nothing written on them.

What Bill said next really struck a cord with me, so I thought I’d share it with you.

(Paraphrased for convenience)

“You control your time. Sometimes, sitting and thinking might be a much higher priority than the need to be in constant demand. It’s not a proxy of your seriousness that you’ve filled every minute in your schedule.”

Warrens response…

“I can buy anything I want, but I can’t buy time.”

Two of the richest and most successful men in the world advocating the benefit of kicking back and taking some time. Check out the clip for yourself.

You see, just because you’re not ‘busy’, doesn’t mean you aren’t getting things done.

I spent a long time in my life needing to be ‘busy’ and it didn’t get me anywhere. I just ended up stressed out, tired, and drinking too much as a coping mechanism.

It wasn’t until I stepped back and started to appreciate my time that I realised my full potential.

Appreciate your own time.

Take a walk.
Have a long bath.
Spend a morning in a cafe watching the world.

Whatever it is you enjoy, make time for it in the form of blank space in your diary and you’ll soon see your productivity, passion, and drive starting to fly.

This is an adaptation of one of my Instagram posts.

--

--

Matt Read
Two-Minute Life Lessons

Spiritually awakened. Sober. ADHD diagnosis aged 30 transformed my life. Here to learn. Find me on Instagram @foxsaidwhat.