EVERYBODY FAILS — WHAT ARE YOU SO SCARED OF?

Matt Read
Two-Minute Life Lessons
2 min readFeb 16, 2017

It’s really easy to make excuses not to do something. In fact it is so god damn easy that we do it all the time.

But here’s the thing…

By making excuses you are giving yourself permission to fail.

Actually, you are willing yourself on to fail.

One of the main reasons people make excuses not to do something is because they’re scared they’ll fail.

They’re scared that if they try something, it won’t work out, or they’ll fuck it up and it will all have been a waste of time, or they’ll embarrass themselves.

Now, here’s a giant cliche, but it’s true…

You cannot have SUCCESS without FAILURE.

I fail at stuff all the time.

In the past week alone there have been projects I’ve been super excited about that have come to nothing. In my books that is a big fat failure.

Have I stopped pitching for things? No.

I’ve contacted more people, had more conversations, and now I’m writing proposals for another two awesome projects.

They could also fail, but at least I’ll be able to say I tried.

As soon as you start making excuses, you’re planting the seed for failure.

If you try something and you get knocked down, get back up again.

Your next attempt will be twice as good. You are stronger than you think.

This is an adaptation of one of my Instagram posts.

--

--

Matt Read
Two-Minute Life Lessons

Spiritually awakened. Sober. ADHD diagnosis aged 30 transformed my life. Here to learn. Find me on Instagram @foxsaidwhat.