The Surrender Experiment by Michael A. Singer

A Tech Billionaire’s 6 Secrets to Inner Peace

Michael Singer’s advice for mental peace from his book, The Surrender Experiment

Parker Klein ✌️
TwosApp
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2024

--

The tech billionaire is Michael Singer, most famous for his self-help book, The Untethered Soul.

He started a billion-dollar tech company named Medical Manager by teaching himself to code.

He also moved into the middle of the forest before any of this happened to meditate and learn about the voice in his head and how to make peace with it.

These are the secrets he shared in his book, The Surrender Experiment:

1. Focus on how amazing life is

What manifests in front of us at any given moment is actually something truly extraordinary — it is the end result of all the forces that have been interacting together for billions of years.

We are sitting on a tiny planet spinning through space, and we should be enjoying the journey.

Everything in life has something to teach you and it is all for your growth.

“Every day bite off more than you can chew, and chew it.”

2. Wanting control is the root of your trouble

We try to control or give precedence to our mind’s thoughts which leads to tension, anxiety, and fear.

“I had seen time and again that letting go not only led to amazing results, but it also left me in a state of profound inner peace. I was not in charge; life was in charge, and there was an underlying sense of enthusiasm and excitement about getting to see what was going to happen next.”

The problem is that we generally use all the stirred-up energy intended to bring about change, to resist change.

3. You are not the voice in your head

We can remain aware above our thoughts.

“I ignored all that negative chatter and just kept building.”

The mind needs time to quiet down to keep everything in perspective.

4. Accept what life is presenting you

“I stopped listening to all the chatter about my personal preferences, and instead, started the willful practice of accepting what the flow of life was presenting me.”

“If life brought events in front of me, I would treat them as if they came to take me beyond myself. If my personal self complained, I would use each opportunity to simply let him go and surrender to what life was presenting me.”

Do whatever is put in front of you with all your heart and soul without regard for personal results. Do the work as though it were given to you by the universe itself — because it was.

5. You are a part of something much bigger than yourself

Serving others is much higher than serving yourself.

“Every time I sat down at the computer to work on the program, I took a breath and remembered that I was writing this as a gift to the universe.”

To be there when a person is soaring high is an easy relationship. To be there during hard times requires deep friendship.

6. Surrender and let go

“Surrender had taught me to willingly participate in life’s dance with a quiet mind and an open heart.”

Once you are ready to let go of yourself, life becomes your friend, your teacher, your secret lover.

“I simply kept letting go of whatever came up.”

“The more I let go, the freer I became. It was not my responsibility to find what was binding me; that was life’s job. My responsibility was to willingly let go of whatever was brought up within me.”

At some point there’s no more struggle, just the deep peace that comes from surrendering to a perfection that is beyond your comprehension.

When life’s way becomes your way, all the noise stops, and there is a great peace.

--

--

Parker Klein ✌️
TwosApp

Former @Google @Qualcomm @PizzaNova. Building Twos: write, remember & share *things* (www.TwosApp.com?code=baller)