Reflection: Week of 3/25

Tyler Davis
tylerd-51-236
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2019

For our final project, we have been tasked with creating a data visualization. While the subject has not yet been determined, we were asked to find examples and evaluate their effectiveness.

Example 1: Nike VaporFly 4%

This visualization shows the estimated change in race time of runners when they switched to a particular show. This study was conducted because Nike made a bold claim that the Nike Vaporfly 4% would improve runners’ race times by (the implied) 4%. I find this to be very effective because it is easy to determine the spread and average. However, it would be more helpful if they cut down on the unused “Slower” percentages to make it easier to identify the names of the corresponding shoes.

Example 2: The Daily Routines of Famous Creative People

This visualization breaks down the daily routine of famous creatives. Aside from being visually pleasing, this chart allows for patterns to be easily identified due to smart color choices. If I were to make any changes, I would make it so that the names were easier to read, perhaps by adding more contrast or switching the order of colors on the key. At the moment, it is slightly difficult to read the names on the teal color.

As indicated by my theme choice, I would like to focus on a visualization of consumption. I am very fascinated by American consumerism, especially regarding shopping habits. If I am allowed to follow this theme, I would like to explore data regarding sneakers of clothing, especially streetwear.

--

--