Cocktails and Chisme

Xiamari Osorio
TylerGAID
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2023

--

*Chisme means gossip!*

Cocktails and Chisme is a bilingual bar where ‘Chisme’ (gossip) meets great drinks! Unwind after work or your responsibilities at our bar and lounge. Immerse yourself in Latinx culture while enjoying fantastic cocktails and appetizers, sharing laughs with friends and loved ones. We’re casual yet vibrant — an ideal spot for socializing and relishing delightful moments over drinks and bites!

“Cocktails and Chisme” was inspired by a term commonly used within the Latinx community, which can be found on social media: “Cafecito y Chisme,” translating to “coffee and gossip.” My aim was to create a personalized version of this popular phrase that would align with the bilingual and inclusive environment I wanted to foster. By adopting the theme of Cocktails and Chisme, I’ve added my own twist to the concept. In Mexican slang, ‘Chisme’ refers to gossip or ‘tea’ and has evolved into numerous memes on various social media platforms. It’s important to note that Cocktails and Chisme isn’t meant to propagate harmful gossip or rumors. Rather, it aims to build upon the social media phenomenon associated with ‘Chisme’ by providing customers with an interactive and engaging experience centered around it.

Final Logo

The logo was designed to be fun and vibrant, setting the tone for the rest of the branding. I employed a vibrant and tropical color palette to reflect the outgoing and vibrant nature of Latinx culture, as I perceive it.

Style Sheet

This style sheet encompasses my responsive logo, fonts, typography, color palette, and text frames. The utilization of chat bubbles was inspired by the theme centered around gossip. These irregularly shaped chat bubbles aim to create a sense of fun and outgoing energy, deviating from the traditional or sophisticated appearance of typical chat bubbles. Incorporating the chat bubble into the responsive logo was crucial, as it serves as a consistent visual element across my branding, signifying Cocktails and Chisme. Regarding the fonts, I selected them with a focus on fun and friendliness. I chose three heading fonts and a body copy font that harmonized well together. Although I was particularly fond of the font ‘Moret’ for this project, using it as the primary focus would have imparted a different feel. Instead, I opted for ‘Din Condensed,’ modifying its ascenders and descenders while introducing colored drop shadows, achieving the desired aesthetic. I was then able to keep “Moret” and use it sparingly. ‘Alkaline’ stood out as a fun and non-traditional cursive font that perfectly complemented my project.

Final Pattern

I created this pattern by sourcing stock images of cocktails and applying gradient maps that aligned with my branding colors. Originally designed as the menu background, I later realized its standalone appeal as a pattern for the overall brand identity.

Menu Mock Up

As Cocktails and Chisme isn’t your typical restaurant but rather a lounge and bar, I was inspired to design a creatively shaped menu that could stand on the table. This approach eliminates the need for the menu to be passed out or collected, allowing customers to refer to it whenever needed.

Final Cocktail Menu

This is the laid-out version of the menu.

Environmental Design: Interior Neon Sign

I was inspired by the popular green walls to create an environmental aspect for my restaurant. The neon sign typically serves as a photo opportunity, making my restaurant ‘Instagrammable’ and aesthetically pleasing for sharing on social media. I chose not to create a full green wall; instead, I included batches of tropical plants and added a wire frame to hold the neon sign. At Cocktails and Chisme, guests and celebrities can hang photos on the wire frame during their visits. I used the pattern to fill the wall and painted the trimmings pink to match the color palette of my restaurant.

Collateral

I was inspired to create T-shirts as collateral because I believe the funny and relatable phrases would encourage people to share them on social media or would attract a lot of attention.

Webpage Mock Up

<iframe style=”border: 1px solid rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.1);” width=”800" height=”450" src=”https://www.figma.com/embed?embed_host=share&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.figma.com%2Ffile%2FtExPcyPMJQjPgSbnDD0Hfq%2FUntitled%3Ftype%3Ddesign%26node-id%3D154%253A93%26mode%3Ddesign%26t%3Dt9Rob94aYXH6JtU6-1" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Social Media Advertising Mock Up

This is my social media mockup for advertising happy hour. The caption is engaging and attention-grabbing, aiming to drive people to the restaurant for happy hour or in general!

Final Poster

--

--