Dine In A World Of Anime

Restaurant Branding Project

Khalia G
TylerGAID
3 min readDec 7, 2022

--

Welcome to Sugoi Time, the restaurant where anime and manga come to life. If you love anime and wish to try the food from your favorite shows, look no further and visit Sugoi Time!

Logo

Logo

Regarding the logo, my goal was to create something welcoming and fun but not too cliche. There were many trials and errors, but I ended up going with a dark-skinned anime girl with two puffs in her hair.

My inspiration for her hairstyle was Usagi Tsukino from Sailor Moon. What brought me to having a dark-skinned girl as the mascot was to showcase and encourage diversity within the anime community, especially the cosplay community, where black people and people of color face racism for dressing up as their favorite anime characters. So Sugoi Time is no place for hate but for a community to come together and have fun regardless of differences.

Menu

For the menu, I wanted to bring the manga experience into this. When you receive your menu, it will be a booklet, the menu will be read backward, and the format will be just like a manga.

Part of the Menu Spread

When you look into your menu, you may recognize some dishes from your favorite anime, such as Soma’s “Gotcha Pork Roast” from Food Wars, Tanjiro’s Udon from Demon Slayer, the “Mizo Mizo Meat Barbecue” from One Piece, and more!

Mockup of menu

Environment

Regarding the environment, I wanted to focus on how the inside of the store would look. So the solution was to create a floor plan.

Floor-plan of restaurant

Collateral

For collaterals, I went with a hoodie design with three famous anime characters on the sleeves, with the mascot on the pocket and the title on the back.

hoodie design

I also wanted to add something for the artists and future creators of anime/manga. So, I went with a sketchbook and a tablet cover.

Drawing Tablet Cover

My inspiration for this brand was a ramen shop in Philadelphia called Rayaki Ramen, also an anime-themed restaurant. The only difference between Rayaki Ramen and Sugoi Time is that I didn’t just want to have anime art on the walls and call it a day. I want this brand to go all out, almost like a love letter to anime and manga. And so, I hope this brand is a place you’ll want to visit again and again!

Credits

Designer: Khalia (behance.net/khaliagilliam)
Instructor: Jenny Kowalski,
Tyler School of Art and Architecture, Temple University
Stock Photography for Collateral by (
freepik)

--

--