Flipped

Lindsay Archer
TylerGAID
Published in
4 min readDec 8, 2021

pancakes and family fun

Prompt: For the junior year restaurant project, we were challenged with a more open-ended assignment that could be anything from a normal restaurant to a food delivery service. We spent time researching what issues people struggle with the most when it comes to food whether it be confusion of what to buy in a grocery store or a restaurant that could help your mental health.

Mission Statement: Flipped is a family-friendly, entertaining environment where customers can build their own pancakes and can select other breakfast favorites in our menu. Choose fun character-based pancakes from our menu or design your own! Energize the start of your day in a playful environment for your children, leaving them happy and less hungry.

Description: Flipped is a bright and fun place for kids of all ages to build their own pancakes. Create your own pancake on our wall mural that has blank pancake faces for your kid to interact with. Toppings are provided at each table that can be attached to each of the pancakes on the wall. The waiter can come to your table, take a photo of your child’s pancake creation and the chef can recreate it. Pancakes are the main food item at Flipped, but adults can also choose other delicious breakfast favorites. Families will leave our restaurant with their frowns flipped upside-down!

Beginning mood boards for inspiration

Process

Took the name “flipped” and wanted to.. flip it into something someone hasn’t seen before. It started out as an “only flipped foods” food truck, but then Kelly gave me the idea of making it a pancake place for kids, I loved that idea. It was hard for me to see the whole big picture at once since this is my first real brand identity project I have worked on, so I was pretty overwhelmed trying to come up with ideas and how they would look. So, with the name “flipped”, one of the main foods you think of is pancakes being flipped, so why not make the whole place based on pancakes instead of different kinds of foods, and I went from there. I wanted kids to see the logo out their car window and think “I want to go there, mom and dad!”. Making a kid’s frown turn upside-down became my main goal throughout this process.

Logo Process

Scans of my sketchbook of my plans for the idea for flipped before it was strictly a kid’s pancake place.
I made some discoveries here that I enjoyed, but weren’t quite there yet.
Finally got to a point where I really liked the logo as a whole and got good feedback from my peers, I really started to take off with my brand identity after this.

Final Logo

Featured Design Element — Menu

Front cover of the finished menu with my page of brainstorming in the beginning

Supporting Elements

First sketches for the supporting elements. Throughout my process, I changed some of these ideas slightly as I went along or just changed some into an entirely different thought. Some of these minor changes adjusted the vibe of my restaurant.
Coloring book mockups from https://graphicriver.net/downloads
Apron mockup (Creative Tacos) and pin mockup (Miguel Miranda) with custom pancake designs
Instagram page showing off some of the pancakes made at the restaurant (Mockup World)
Crayon mockup using my brand's color palette.

Credits

Designer: Lindsay Archer

Instructor: Kelly Holohan, Tyler School of Art and Architecture, Temple University

Stock Photography by (Unsplash: Beautiful Free Images & Pictureshttps://unsplash.com, Adobe Stock: Stock photos, royalty-free images, graphics …https://stock.adobe.com)

--

--